Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Unanswered: Visual basic and Access

    Hi ;-P

    Ive a database in access, 97 version, and I want to copy this database to some pcs. I do it with a program of Visual Basic, and all of this computers, dont have the 97 version. Some of them have 2000 version. I want to convert this database from 97 to 2000 using Visual Basic Code...

    Does anyone know anything about of it?

    Thanks in advance, ;-P

    Marta

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    7
    Is there a reason you want to do it through VB? To convert the database, you should just open th 97 version in Access 2000. It will give you a wizard to walk you through the conversion. Then you can copy that version to the other PC's.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    7
    Hi!

    Yes, I want to copy it by Visual Basic, because the people who is going to open the data base, doesnt know anything about computers, and its to hard for them to do it everytime.

    Thanks, Marta.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    7
    So can you have the VB app copy the Access 2000 version?

    If you need two versions of it, you can set something in your code to copy the 97 version for some users and another verison for the 2000 users.

    Best advise, though, is to move everyone ont Access 2000. Keeping different versions will drive you crazy.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    7
    Hi,

    Well, Ill do it. I would have two versions of the database, one it would be the 97 version and another one the 2000 version.
    And i would copy it to the computers , watching the version of access of them.

    Thanks,

    Marta.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, Nederland
    Posts
    450

    Lightbulb it can be done

    you first have to add a reference in the tool bar go to : Project - > References

    there you add MicroSoft Access installed version
    then you will have all the propertys off your installed access version
    and even the help files will help much

    then you have to declare some things see below as ive done with excell

    Dim ManWord As Object ' Variable New Oject
    Dim ManDoc As New Word.Document ' Variable Word Document
    Dim myTable As Word.Table ' Variable Word Table
    Dim co As New Excel.Chart
    Dim mo As New Chart
    Dim MC As New OLEObject
    Dim myChart As Object

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •