Unanswered: db2 connect from server to VM

Hi,

I am very new to db2 & VM. I am trying to insert into the db2 in VM from a server via db2 connect. I have the following error message when the insert is run from a Java program.

INSERT INTO LMSFWS01.FWSCNTRL VALUES ( 'GSAA', 159, 0, 0, 20031119, 182829, 20031119, 182829, 'IBMAusCredHQ01', ' ' , 0 , 0 , ' ' )
    19/11/2003 18:28:31 COM.ibm.db2.jdbc.DB2Exception: [IBM][CLI Driver][SQLDS/VM] SQL0552N "LMSFWS01" does not have the privilege to perform operation "FO02". SQLSTATE=42502

However, I would be able to run the same insert successfully via a db2 connect window from the server side.

Would anyone be able to give me a bit of hint.

Cheers,

Hi,

You are probably accessing the VM database with two different users IDs. Check if the same user id is used.

The error message says: "User ID LMSFWS01 does not have permission to do the task".

1. Does LMSFWS01 user exist?
    2. Does the user have the permission to do the task?

Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

Originally posted by grofaty
    Hi,

You are probably accessing the VM database with two different users IDs. Check if the same user id is used.

The error message says: "User ID LMSFWS01 does not have permission to do the task".

1. Does LMSFWS01 user exist?
    2. Does the user have the permission to do the task?

Hope this helps,
    Grofaty

Hi Grofaty,

Tks for the reply.

Your suggestion is what I guess in the beginning. Then I grant dba to the user "LMSFWS01' & the message change to the following.

INSERT INTO LMS.FWSCNTRL VALUES ( 'GSAA', 159, 0, 0, 20031118, 221022, 20031118, 221022, 'IBMAusCredHQ01', ' ' , 0 , 0 , ' ' )
    18/11/2003 10:10:59 PM COM.ibm.db2.jdbc.DB2Exception: [IBM][CLI Driver][SQLDS/VM] SQL0911N The current transaction has been rolled back because of a deadlock or timeout. Reason code "68". SQLSTATE=40001

Now I believe this message doesn't reflex the real situation since I can run the insert sql via db2 connect directly without problem.