Unanswered: Visual Basic to Oracle Connection...Please help

Hi,

Can someone please provide me detailed instructions on how I can connect Visual Basic 6.0 Professional to Oracle 8.1.5 (which is on a server) using the Oracle Driver (not Microsoft ODBC Driver)?
    Do I need a DSN and TSN?
    What is the VB code that I use and where would I place it in my VB Project?
    What references/libraries do I need--how would I add them to the project?
    How can I send a SQL queries and retrieve results from the Oracle server?
    As you can tell, this is my first time doing this...please help. I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

First, do you have the oracle driver installed on your machine ? If it is installed, create a vb project (standard exe) and add the ado data control to this project (project -> components -> ms ado data control). Create the control on your form and go to properties -> connectionstring. Follow the connectionstring dialog chosing the "Use Connection String" Build... option. Choose the appropriate provider and connection information. Once this is completed copy that connection string (this will be used later).

Let me know when you have gotten this far.

rnealejr,

Thanks. I have that done. Now how can I send in user specified queries, i.e., user enters a phone number, which goes as part of a query and I get the result back from the server where Oracle is on. Thanks for all your help. I really appreciate it.

Well first I would work on using ado before jumping into accepting input and returning the values (make sure in your references that microsoft activex data objects 2.X is checked).

Dim cn As ADODB.Connection 'as you are typing adodb vb will automatically autohelp - if not then you don't have a reference to ado
    Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset

Set cn = New ADODB.Connection
    cn.Open "put that connection string here"
    Set rs = New ADODB.Recordset
    rs.Open "select field1,field2 from table where ...", cn
    While Not rs.EOF