Recursive relationships

I'm an experienced ATL/COM developer, but I have no dB background. I'm playing around with a toy app using VB and MS Access in order to learn some of the concepts and procedures. I'd appreciate your opinions on a design problem. The simplified scenario is:

1) I have two conceptual objects, a location and an asset.
    2) Locations can have subordinate locations, which themselve can have subordinate locations, etc. I do not wish to restrict the level of nesting.
    3) An asset is related to a location. I want the asset to be related to the any location (one with or without a subordinate location)
    4) The tree implied by item 2 does not have to be of uniform depth
    5) I want to be able to identify all the locations subordinate (at any depth) to a given location

My initial design:

Table Location:
    LocationID AutoNumber (primary key)
    Location Text
    ParentLocation Number (foreign key) <-- proper term?
    Points to LocationID

Table Asset:
    AssetID AutoNumber (primary key)
    Asset Text
    LocationID Number

Example location table: (note that it is intentionally filled out unevenly)
    USA (parent = NULL)
    Michigan (parent = USA)
    Macomb County (parent = Michigan)
    Washtenaw County (parent = Michigan)
    Ann Arbor (parent = Washtenaw County)
    4th district (parent = Ann Arbor )
    Ypsilanti (parent = Washtenaw County)
    Maryland (parent = USA)
    Virginia (parent = USA)
    Newport News (parent = Virginia)
    York County (parent = Virginia)
    Yorktown (parent = York County)
    Tabb (parent = York County)
    Grafton (parent = York County)
    Denmark (parent = NULL)
    Italy (parent = NULL)

Example asset table: (note that not all assets related to leaf nodes)
    (sorry - no creative names here)
    asset1, location = Michigan
    asset2, location = Newport News
    asset3, location = York County
    asset4, location = 4th district
    asset5, location = Denmark

Example of item 5)