Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: Registering SQL Server in Enterprise Manager

    I have followed all sugestions for this problem to no avail. I have 2 w2000 boxes connected via local network. Both are running instances of MSSQL8. From Box 2 I can register the MSSQL7 version on box1 and from box1 I can register the MSSQL7 version on box2. However I cannot register the MSSQL8 instancance either way. I can see the instance but get the message
    "Specified SQL Server not found ConnectionOpen(Connect())
    I have tried registering with the ip address but same problem
    I have tried aliases.
    In Client Network Utility and Server Network Utility I have both Named pipes(\\.\pipe\sql\query) and tcp/ip (port 1433)
    on both machines
    Any ideas ??
    Regards Clem

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SC, USA
    Posts
    51
    Are both boxes running both SQL2000 and SQL7? If so, and they are both listening on 1433, then only SQL7 will be accessible since it is not aware of multiple instancing in SQL2000. You may wish to have SQL2k listen on a different port.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Thanks loach, sounds a likley fix. Excuse my ignorance but what port number can I use? Are port numbers listed somewhere?
    Thanks for you time,
    Regards Clem

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    SC, USA
    Posts
    51
    You can use any port number that is not already in use. It's typically a good idea to use port numbers over 10000 since they are rarely reserved. You can change the port number by starting up the server network utility (in the SQL Server program group), selecting the TCP/IP netowrk library and clicking on properties. To determine which ports are in use on the server, drop to a command prompt and run 'netstat -a'

    You must then configure any client that accesses the server to also use that port using either the Client Network Utility or the ODBC connection properties.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    OK did that. Sql log now shows listening on [ip adds]:10000 but still same problem. tried connecting with ip adds but no go and also now on box1 I can't access the local mssql8 (7 is still ok) so i changed back to port 1433. (Is it using this port because it is not 'local'?)
    At this stage I think I give up.... I have been looking at this problem for about 3 months.... so I guess i dont need the 7 databases any more. Any ideas how to remove the original 7 instance?
    I am thinking a clean install might be the go?
    Regards Clem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Mmmmmmm clean install *drool* that's definately the way I would go,.. atleast you know where you stand then.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    65
    try using port 1434.

    try changing it in MS SQL2k on both machines (both changed at the same time)

    is there any form of firewall on the individual computers, or between them? if so, make sure it isn't blocking port 1434 (or whatever port your using)

    Try turning off mssql 7.

    I don't know the details, but mssql is a registered system process, it integrates to an extent (i believe) with the OS.

    Is it possible to successfully run multiple versions on MS SQL server on 1 machine? perhaps it isn't and that is why only ms sql 7 works correctly?

    Using ports:

    Yes, you can use any port, not in use. If you select a port that is in use, you should find out on the next boot. (something will probably crash, or stop working properly)

    Hope this helps,
    -Ashleigh

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Hi Ashleigh,
    Yes it is possible to run both instances of mssql on the one server, it is the connecting to the mssql8 version on another machine that is the problem. When doing the connection the target server is even visible as a valid server....
    Connecting to mssql7 on either machine is OK and of course both versions are OK if accessed on the local machine.
    I believe this problem has been compounded by microsofts slammer virus fixes...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •