Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    20

    Unanswered: execute store procedure

    Hi All,

    I am trying to execute a store procedure from ms access. The form I created is a data entry form. I want to pass the values from the form into a store procedure (located in a postgres database).

    example:

    select irp_log_acct(value of field1, value of field2, value of field3) as result;

    1. What is the best approach?
    2. How do I go about doing this?


    Thank you for your time and consideration.

    ~bdavis

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    465
    Can you clarify the idea.....what you have ....what you want .....what you do
    Saludos
    Norberto

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    20
    Originally posted by Norberto
    Can you clarify the idea.....what you have ....what you want .....what you do

    What I have:

    I have a store procedure that is located in a remote postgres database. I know I need to use a odbc connection to execute the store procedure.

    What I want:

    I want to pass the values from the ms access form. The user will click a command button. When the button is clicked, I want the values from the form to populate the store procedure.

    What you do!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    465
    Originally posted by bdavis
    What I have:

    I have a store procedure that is located in a remote postgres database. I know I need to use a odbc connection to execute the store procedure.

    What I want:

    I want to pass the values from the ms access form. The user will click a command button. When the button is clicked, I want the values from the form to populate the store procedure.

    What you do!!!!!!
    The store procedure is a function, module, subrutine..??
    Saludos
    Norberto

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    20
    Originally posted by Norberto
    The store procedure is a function, module, subrutine..??

    The store procedure is a function. Also, I want to get a result back from the function.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    465
    Originally posted by bdavis
    The store procedure is a function. Also, I want to get a result back from the function.
    If is a function have a list of parameters for update the base.
    Saludos
    Norberto

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Orlando Florida
    Posts
    20
    Originally posted by Norberto
    If is a function have a list of parameters for update the base.

    Could you please supply with sample of code. Just to get started. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •