Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dedupe function

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: dedupe function

    Hi all,

    This is the first time I am using the fileMaker Pro. Can someone here help me how to do the dedupe function in FileMaker Pro 5.5? I try to import the script from the templates but it doesn't work. Please help!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh USA
    Posts
    203

    Re: dedupe function

    "dedupe"? What do you mean?

    Originally posted by katiewhite
    Hi all,

    This is the first time I am using the fileMaker Pro. Can someone here help me how to do the dedupe function in FileMaker Pro 5.5? I try to import the script from the templates but it doesn't work. Please help!

    Thanks
    Rick Knight
    KnightShift Office Solutions and Horse Breaking
    VB, VBA, FileMaker, Access Solutions, Web Solutions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3
    sorry for the confusion. I want to find the duplication records in the master database. But I don't want to check the records one by one manually. I know that there is a script that I need to write in order to perform the 'dedupe' function so that Filemaker Pro can do it for me automatically. But I don't know how to write that script. Hope you will understand what I mean.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh USA
    Posts
    203
    To find duplicates enter "!" (no quotes) into the field you want to search on. You can do this manually or via script. Script would be something like this:

    Allow User Abort (Off)
    Set Error Capture (On)
    Go to layout (Your layout)
    Enter Find Mode ()
    Set Field (Your Field, "!")
    Perform Find



    Originally posted by katiewhite
    sorry for the confusion. I want to find the duplication records in the master database. But I don't want to check the records one by one manually. I know that there is a script that I need to write in order to perform the 'dedupe' function so that Filemaker Pro can do it for me automatically. But I don't know how to write that script. Hope you will understand what I mean.
    Rick Knight
    KnightShift Office Solutions and Horse Breaking
    VB, VBA, FileMaker, Access Solutions, Web Solutions

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thank you so much!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1

    Dedupe Software

    Came across this website which helps if you are looking for some good dedupe software - www.dedupesoftware.com

    Hope that helps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •