Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: dbca under rh9

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Unanswered: dbca under rh9

    I followed the oreillynet instructions for installing oracle 9i r2 on redhat 9 (fresh install).
    I then started dbca to create a new database.
    I chose the general purpose db!
    Here comes the weird part:
    1) Everything goes on well until after entering the SYS and the SYSTEM passwords.
    The problem is the installation process stalls at 100% and then the db installer stops responding!

    When i force it shut ( by closing the parent terminal) and then do a
    $oemapp dbstudio
    then i create a new connection but no db appears to be created!

    2) But, when i do
    $dbca
    then I choose to remove the newly "created" db , it removes it correctly!

    what is the problem here? i did follow thoroughly the instructions from oreillynet!

    thanks for helping!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    127
    I don't know why its happening.
    The work around is that, once the software is installed, Just login as sys and create a database yourselfs using CREATE DATABASE Command.

    hope this helps u

    regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    4
    no it doesnt work!
    it says that oracle is not up...

    I know I do feel like a newbie but hey I am a new student in db and I want to do some additionnal work @ home over staying late in the labs...
    you all know that labs are pretty boring ... ;-)

    btw when I enter #sqlplus /nolog(as oracle user)
    #connect / as sysdba
    $sql> startup
    the startup of the db doesnt work!
    is this a documented error or what?
    does a doc somewhere on the net has some functionnal manner of creating databases with dbca? (does some configs are needed prior the creation of the db?)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    482
    Originally posted by nabil55
    no it doesnt work!
    it says that oracle is not up...

    I know I do feel like a newbie but hey I am a new student in db and I want to do some additionnal work @ home over staying late in the labs...
    you all know that labs are pretty boring ... ;-)

    btw when I enter #sqlplus /nolog(as oracle user)
    #connect / as sysdba
    $sql> startup
    the startup of the db doesnt work!
    is this a documented error or what?
    does a doc somewhere on the net has some functionnal manner of creating databases with dbca? (does some configs are needed prior the creation of the db?)
    Look at http://www.puschitz.com . It's a very good instalation how-to with many described workarounds for problems during install.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    129
    Try
    sqlplus /nolog
    conn / as sysdba
    startup nomount

    Then you can create the database by CREATE DATABASE command.

    At oracle documents there is a section about creating d a database with sql statements.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    273
    Hi nabil55,

    as you said that..

    " btw when I enter #sqlplus /nolog(as oracle user)
    #connect / as sysdba
    $sql> startup
    the startup of the db doesnt work! "

    For this to work you have to first set the environment variable, I am not sure about windows, I guess it is something like this..

    > set ORACLE_SID=YOURSID

    and you can create oracle service on windows, start instance and create your database. or issue an startup command ( if you already have one).

    For more information, please read oracle documentation.
    Bhavin

    MS Computer Science
    OCP DBA 9i/8i

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    129
    yep, the ORACLE_SID resides at the /etc/profile.d/oracle.sh if i am correct on a linux platform.

    The same should be on a Solaris system.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Columbia, MD USA
    Posts
    95
    If you're not sure what commands to run to create the database, just use the DBCA to script it out... you can then run the scripts by hand and identify the part of the process that's failing.

    My initial guess is that the instance can't allocate the SGA when it's attempting to start up... you probably need to set kernel shared memory parameters
    Last edited by drew; 12-01-03 at 10:01.
    drew
    ------------------
    http://wjtechnologies.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    ok big guy, this happened to me as well this morning.

    First, i edited /etc/oratab to only reflect the db instance I just created.

    Second, change your $HOME/.bashrc file to set the default $ORACLE_SID to your new SID (ie: export ORACLE_SID=DEV1)

    log out, log in.

    now, do this:

    sqlplus /nolog
    connect /as sysdba
    startup



    this worked for me and started up my instance.
    I have no idea why the stupid DBCA stalls. It is very annooying. It seems that once it tries to set up your services it crashes so your DB is good to go, but you need to setup your listener and such later.

    Next is we will both have to configure the LISTENER and the TNSNAMES files which were not created by DBCA. I assume NET MANAGER can do this.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •