Unhappy Unanswered: ORA-12541 TNS:no listener

Hi,

im new to Oracle. I have just installed Oracle 9 enterprise edition (never had oracle installed before). I cant seem to connect to anything. i created a service name called ASERVER, and my hostname is: LEFKOS (name of comp). I also created a listener called: LISTENER

Anytime i try login on to anything such as SQL PLUS or Enterprise Manager console i keep getting the following error message: ORA-12541 TNS:no listener. I don know whats wrong...do i have to install a separate program for the listener?. I have found forum threads about editing the registry to make the listener work. However all i can find is: OracleMTSRecoveryService and OracleOracleDBClientCache in the registry. In addition i cant seem to use the command "lsnrctl status" the command prompt doesn't recognise it.

Please Help

Lefty In distress!!

Hi Lefty,

You should have a service listed as Oracle<homespec>Listener. (I'm guessing you are on a Win32 box by your use of the term "Service").

It should be started. If it isn't try starting it, or if you don't have one then I would suggest a new install with everything at default.

*I'm not going to get into tnsnames.ora in this thread, everyone, listen, I promise. I have it written in blood that I will never again discuss tnsnames.ora*

Hth
    Bill
    Please don't email me directly with questions. I've probably just got home from the pub and cannot guarantee the sanity of my answers. In fact, I can't believe I actually made it home.

Red face ORA-12541 TNS:no listener

Hi Bill,