Question oracle certification worth it?

Hi

Any advice please on Oracle certification and getting into Oracle DBA career. I have done some MCP exams (networking and vb) but I have serious cold feat with the certification business. This is mainly because I dont have solid long term experience and I have found that relying on a certification to get a job is pointless ( did MCSE NT 4.0 and I never did get a job anywhere near an NT 4.0 server, due to...you guessed it...no experience!).
    However I am interested in learning Oracle for future career growth but I have no experience with Oracle other than walking past a server with Oracle running on it (about four years ago). This leaves me in a pretty pathetic situation as I have NO experience, would like to get into it and have no idea how.I have been to the Oracle University site and seen courses for "experienced" SQL users but not introduction courses. The only experience I have with databases is a year developing an Access stand alone application(far cry from enterprise wide RDMS). My current job gives me no Oracle exposure so Im really trying to find out any suggestions on how to get into Oracle in the future.

One thing I dread is spending money and time only for it to be a waste with no experience to back it up.

If this topic has been posted before Ill expect no reply and will search for it.

Thanks

Karl_the_second

Thumbs up

Hi,

Try to get the OCP Application developer guide by Oracle Press.
    It contains the introduction to SQL, Pl/Sql etc., This book will also be useful for your Certification course.
    SATHISH .

thanks

thanks, I will try and find that book you suggested.