Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: Running a form doesnt do anything?

    Hi,

    I've compiled a form, albeit not much at the mo, but wanted to see how it ran. All it does is open up an IE window and just hang and say web site found, waiting for reply. I've been to the preferences in Forms and gone to the runtime tab and made sure its on the right port that my listener is on - they match fine.
    Is there anything else Im missing? Or can the form be run without using servlet mode?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    No actual & specific Oracle Product mentioned (w/version).
    No OS or OS version specified.

    >Is there anything else Im missing?
    Possibly a clue or two.

    >Or can the form be run without using servlet mode?
    Via what mysterious mechanism can a dumb web browser automagically "run a form" even if it could locate it?

    You neglected to actually share with use EXACTLY what you tried to do in order to "run the form".
    So how are we to know what you are doing wrong?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    8
    Im using Oracle Forms 9i using Oracle 9i on WinXP
    In edit preferences the application server URL is set to http://local:1521/forms90/f90servlet (local being my computer) which according to online help is correct. The port 1521 I assume should be the same as the local listener which I also have as using port 1521 using TCP/IP protocol when I go to Oracle Net Manager. Well in reading the help they dont mention anything else that you do need, which I found a bit strange too, although that what I find help files to be.
    So having had the configuration correct and compiled the form accordingly, running it took me to the blank IE page.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    With computers & many technical folks specific words have specific meanings & things "do not compute" when incorrect terms are used.

    > Oracle Forms 9i using Oracle 9i
    Neither of the above are VERSION specific.
    Each has R1 & R2.

    You can not buy & can not install "Oracle Forms 9i"
    as it only comes bundled with iDS or 9iAS.

    HTTP <> SQL*NET
    HTTP is Hyper Text Transport protocol
    Apache is the most common utility to send/receive HTTP.
    Apache "never" uses port 1521 by default;
    depending upon Oracle preference dejour,
    Apache might be listening on 80, 8080, 7777, etc.
    Port 1521 is the typical default port of SQL*Net;
    used by database clients to initiate an connect to the database.

    >http://local:1521/forms90/f90servlet (local being my computer)
    >which according to online help is correct.
    WRONG!

    > running it took me to the blank IE page
    Not surprising to me.

    You are nowhere near close to understanding what is needed to make webforms work and then actually making it work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Did you download and install jinitator?
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Bill, apart from today's rubbish, this question was asked in 2003

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Burbank & Santa Cruz de la Sierra
    Posts
    3,716
    I wonder how it turned out? I was so interested.

    I laughed, I cried, it changed my life.

    Now, alas, I will never know if poor scomfort got his form to display.

    I...

    I feel used.
    aka "Paul"
    Non est ei similis.

    I just read "100 Things To Do Before You Die". I was surprised that "Yell for help!!" wasn't one of them

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Color my face red.... It showed up in my browser as a new message.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •