I have a back end with several front ends that use linked tables to retrieve information. User get this message if certain users go into the front ends first. I knoe I can resolve this with workgroup security but before i can deal with the "red tape" certain users need to be using the databases. Any ideas on why this is happening? I checked the open exclusive defaults and all the users have them set to shared. Any help would be appreciated.