Post Unanswered: Idiot Question: Time limit on Data

There is no DBA so I must do it on my own.
    I am pretty new to databases so forgive me if this is too lame a question:

Our DB has data from 2 years ago that we dont need.
    how can we limit the amount of data to be retained to be w/in 6 months.

I cannot even find the manual here yet but please tell me what to look up when I find it.

Thanks IA

Is your data in Backup form or it is in the database itself?
    Bhavin

MS Computer Science
    OCP DBA 9i/8i

There is no ready made option in oracle available to do this job.

Your system may have a field with date stamp on each record.
    based on that you should delete the data.

If u want to delete them periodically u should run a process may be END OF DAY.

Also, there are products that can auto-archive data from your Oracle DB. But again, you must have some column in each table upon which the archiver can use to determine what to delete. You may have to add a date-time column to some of your tables and just set it to current date. That way it will delete off in 6 months.
    Oracle - DB2 - MS Access -

Time limit on Data

Thanks all

I am suprised this cannot be done automaticaly w/in oracle.

Yes, its on the database itself.

Arrow Time limit on Data

Is there some way to do this with a cron or something?
    I was reading this in another products manual but was unable to elicit how they where doing it???

Arrow Re: Time limit on Data

************************************************** ****************************
    * archive_data.HOWTO
    ************************************************** ****************************

* INSTALLATION

Before running the archive data process the archiver database package needs to be installed on the database.

Start a sqlplus session on the Server database logged on with the same user and password used by Server.

Then run the following two scripts in the specified order. The scripts can be found in the db directory of a