Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    70

    Unanswered: DAO and SQL Server

    I want to create a new database on a SQL Server using DAO.

    Is it possible and if so, Does anyone have any example how to do so?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Possible: Yes

    Examples: No

    Advice: Don't do it.
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    70
    he he
    I don't have much choice. We are running DAO here in my office and then don't want to ship ADO.

    How would I go about doing it?

    How would I connect to the server?

    I can then run the Create Database SQL command, correct?

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    70
    Oh yeah, I don't want to use ODBC.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Is this MSDE and not SQL Server?

    If it's SQL Server, don't you have SQL Server client tools?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    70
    Yes it is MSDE.

    I have to do it all programmatically.

    The point for this application will be to take an existing Access database and convert it to MSDE and then transfer all the data.

    I have to do it programmatically due to the following reasons:
    over 600 clients
    clients have different versions of the application
    only DAO is distributed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Originally posted by vbgladiator
    Yes it is MSDE.

    I have to do it all programmatically.

    The point for this application will be to take an existing Access database and convert it to MSDE and then transfer all the data.

    I have to do it programmatically due to the following reasons:
    over 600 clients
    clients have different versions of the application
    only DAO is distributed.
    Let's all bow or heads in a moment of silence...
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    70
    he he he
    thank you, thank you.

    he heh e

    I know, this is a pain.
    I had it in ADO but I don't even know how to connect to SQL server using DAO.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Check out the link in this thread...

    it's a link to some shareware that you might find useful...

    http://www.dbforums.com/t972789.html
    [doooh]
    (would help if I paste it here, wouldn't it)
    [/doooh]
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    70
    What thread?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •