Thread: Subform help

Unanswered: Subform help

First, thanks for the wonderful help I have received from the members of this forum.

Here my problem.
    I have never worked with subforms before, and now I am running into a wall. I need help setting up a subform to diplay the data from a table linked in a many to many relationship.

Program_ID
    Prog_Name

Program_ID
    Started
    Complete
    Require_ID

Require_ID
    Requirements

My main form has been passed a Prog_Name and cooresponding Program_ID. On that main form I also have a combo box allowing a user to select a Requirement/Require_ID. I would like my subform to show the started and completed data for each Program_ID/Require_ID combination.

I have been able to display the two ID's on the subform, but when a user changes the Require_ID from the combo box, the subform does not add a record for the new combination, it just updates the Require_ID field and leaves the rest of the data the same. No new record.

Any help you can offer me is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Steve

Re: Subform help

Hi there.

It sounds like you're missing one line of code. Your code in the AfterUpdate event for the ReqID/Requirements combo box probably has the following:

Me!YourComboBoxName.RowSource = strSQL

You need to add the following:

Me!YourComboBoxName.Requery

This will refresh the data when a new item is selected in the combo box.

Hope this helps.

Amadea

Re: Subform help

Ooops, made an error in the code. Sorry.

The added line should read:

Me!NameOfYourDisplayedDataBox(s).Requery

You didn't say how the record info was being displayed. I think that makes a difference. If you use text boxes, make sure you created the combo to "search for a record", then you won't need additional coding; if your using a list box, then you'll need a little code in the AfterUpdate event of the combo box.

Let me if this makes sense.

Amadea

Thank You