Unhappy Unanswered: Export informix data

Hi there,

I got a client who is using the informix database under Unix OS. I have zero knowledge on both. There are no administrators.

I would like export the data from the informix tables to text files so that I could use them for some other purpose.

There is an utility provided in the database to execute sql commands.

Using that I typed the following command and the data was exported to the text file.

"unload to <text file> select * from <table>"

Unfortunately.. there were no field name came along with the data which makes my life very complicated.

Imagine.. there are around 100+ tables which I have to repeat the same process.

Plss help me with an easy way..

Infact I want everything (all the tables with the structrure).. Is there an easy way to accomplish this..?

I hope I will get some useful comments from you soon..

Thanks
    Ahmad
    Hong Kong

Re: Export informix data

Originally posted by faheem786
    Hi there,

I got a client who is using the informix database under Unix OS. I have zero knowledge on both. There are no administrators.

I would like export the data from the informix tables to text files so that I could use them for some other purpose.

There is an utility provided in the database to execute sql commands.

Using that I typed the following command and the data was exported to the text file.

"unload to <text file> select * from <table>"

Unfortunately.. there were no field name came along with the data which makes my life very complicated.

Imagine.. there are around 100+ tables which I have to repeat the same process.

Plss help me with an easy way..

Infact I want everything (all the tables with the structrure).. Is there an easy way to accomplish this..?

I hope I will get some useful comments from you soon..

Thanks
    Ahmad
    Hong Kong
    Hi Ahmad,

At unix prompt enter

dbexport <databasename>