Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DB Spaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    Question Unanswered: DB Spaces

    How to Increase the DBSpaces in Informix Dynamic Server for WinNT.

    Plz help me.


    Maruthi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    92
    Hi,

    Create a DBspace:
    onspaces -c -d <DBspacename> -p <pathname> -o <offset> -s <size>

    Add a chunk to an existing DBspace:
    onspaces -a <DBspacename> -p <pathname> -o <offset> -s <size>

    Generally offset is kept as 0 (zero), but may vary according to a disk setup. Make sure that the instance where you are doing this admin job is free from user sessions.

    Regards,
    Shriyan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    DB Spaces

    Hi..Thank u for reply.


    I dont have the telnet. I am connecting to ServerStudio JE

    Where i need to give the said command.


    Regards
    maruthi




    Originally posted by vpshriyan
    Hi,

    Create a DBspace:
    onspaces -c -d <DBspacename> -p <pathname> -o <offset> -s <size>

    Add a chunk to an existing DBspace:
    onspaces -a <DBspacename> -p <pathname> -o <offset> -s <size>

    Generally offset is kept as 0 (zero), but may vary according to a disk setup. Make sure that the instance where you are doing this admin job is free from user sessions.

    Regards,
    Shriyan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: DB Spaces

    Originally posted by Maruthi
    Hi..Thank u for reply.


    I dont have the telnet. I am connecting to ServerStudio JE

    Where i need to give the said command.


    Regards
    maruthi
    Hi,

    You will have to give this command in the command window where you started your IDS server. Eg. Start - Programs - Informix Dynamic server - Select your server
    A command window will open, here you can give the above commands.

    Regards,

    lloyd

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11

    Re: DB Spaces

    Hi..Thnx for u r suggetions.

    still i am getting problem with onspaces. here i am attaching the error message.

    Plz help me.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails error.jpg  

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: DB Spaces

    Originally posted by lloydnwo
    Hi,

    You will have to give this command in the command window where you started your IDS server. Eg. Start - Programs - Informix Dynamic server - Select your server
    A command window will open, here you can give the above commands.

    Regards,

    lloyd
    Hi Maruti,

    Here's how you do it.

    To Create new Dbspace

    1 Go to command prompt
    2 Create a new file edit abc.dat with zero bytes
    (eg edit abc.dat)
    3 Save it
    4 At the server end
    Onspaces C D Abc_dbs P C:\data\abc -O 10 -S 50000
    5 Take a level 0 archive Ontape -S


    Add new chuck to a dbspace
    Follow the same 4 steps and
    Onspaces a ocslink -o 0 -p c:\ifmxdata\ocslink\ocslink_dat1 s 50000

    This should help.

    Regards,

    Lloyd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •