Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    32

    Unanswered: DATABASEPROPERTYEX linked server

    It is possible to grap a database property from a database on a linked server? Like this?

    Select DATABASEPROPERTYEX('servername.databasename','Reco very')

    Thanks!

    Tommy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I Tried a variety of ways, and it doesn't look like it...

    Select DATABASEPROPERTYEX('QA.dbo.Northwind','Recovery')
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    32
    Same results, here, I just get null. I'm going to try to look at the sysdatabases.status field. I just need to get the recovery model, and see if the database is online or not.

    Thanks

    Tommy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Why not create a sproc on each (master) db and do a remotr sproc call? That should work...
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    ..know what?

    If you could do that then you would easily have the ability to know...they shouldn't change strategies at all...

    If you're the dba you should know...

    You should have an inventory of everything...are these out of your control, and what are you trying to accomplish? (inventory automation?)
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    32
    Brett:

    Thanks for your help. I'm an ISP, and my users have the ability to set their db's the simple. I run my own log shipping scripts. When I backup the logs on the source, it's easy to check the status, and NOT back up logs if it's set to simple. The restorelog runs on the failover server, and I have to tell my script to not try to restore if the original db is set to simple. Other wise, my job shows as failed, even it it fails on one database that is set to simple.

    Tommy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Are these physical servers or instances of sql 2k?

    In either case you have to build both, just store a sproc in master, and open a cursor to find the dbs with


    select * from sysdatabases
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •