Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    24

    Unanswered: SQL Server upgarde from 6.5 non-cluster to 2000 cluster

    I have to upgrade SQL server 6.5 to(non clustered default instance) SQL Server 2000(failover cluster).
    SQL Server 6.5 name = S4
    SQL Server 2000 Primary Node = S5
    SQL Server 2000 failover Node = S6
    SQL Server Virtual Server(in cluster environment) = CRANE

    When I run Upgrade wizard on Primary node(S5) I can select export server (S4) but under the import server I could see S5(where I am running upgrade wizard).
    When I click NEXT I got can find the server (import server).

    So I believe the export server should be CRANE (virtual server) not the physical server(S5). But how can I select that server ?
    If not then how can I Upgrade and which server I need to select as IMPORT SERVER.

    I am stuck with this problem... any kind of help or guideline would be appreciated..

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    24

    Re: SQL Server upgarde from 6.5 non-cluster to 2000 cluster(Gurus????)

    I am an Oracle Guru........I believe-

    And I also believe there are SQL Server GURUS too..... Where are they???????????????????? Pleasesssssssssssssss!!!!!

    Originally posted by nmajeed
    I have to upgrade SQL server 6.5 to(non clustered default instance) SQL Server 2000(failover cluster).
    SQL Server 6.5 name = S4
    SQL Server 2000 Primary Node = S5
    SQL Server 2000 failover Node = S6
    SQL Server Virtual Server(in cluster environment) = CRANE

    When I run Upgrade wizard on Primary node(S5) I can select export server (S4) but under the import server I could see S5(where I am running upgrade wizard).
    When I click NEXT I got can find the server (import server).

    So I believe the export server should be CRANE (virtual server) not the physical server(S5). But how can I select that server ?
    If not then how can I Upgrade and which server I need to select as IMPORT SERVER.

    I am stuck with this problem... any kind of help or guideline would be appreciated..

    Thanks in advance.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    I have a dim memory of this at best, but if you use the Client Network Utility to create an alias (where S5 points to CRANE or its IP address), then you should be able to fool the upgrade utility into putting the data in the right place. As always, try this on a test server first, your mileage may vary, beware of the lawyer, etc..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    24

    SQL Server upgarde from 6.5 non-cluster to 2000 cluster

    U da Man!!!!

    I got it.

    Thanks

    Originally posted by MCrowley
    I have a dim memory of this at best, but if you use the Client Network Utility to create an alias (where S5 points to CRANE or its IP address), then you should be able to fool the upgrade utility into putting the data in the right place. As always, try this on a test server first, your mileage may vary, beware of the lawyer, etc..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    24

    Re: SQL Server upgarde from 6.5 non-cluster to 2000 cluster

    Hey,

    I got through all the steps tp upgrade except
    on the following step :
    "Export / Import via named pipe"

    Then I got the following error:

    ===========
    Content-Type: text/plain;
    charset="iso-8859-1";
    name="Export and Import via Named Pipe - 006medical.err"
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
    Content-Disposition: attachment;
    filename="Export and Import via Named Pipe - 006medical.err"

    Export.exe on the remote machine was hung...=0D
    Export Exit Code: 259 - export.exe -CodePage 437 -DeviceType Pipe =
    -AllTables yes -MasterPath D:\MSSQL\DATA\MASTER.DAT -DatabaseName =
    medical -DevicePath \\.\pipe\~cnvpipe0=0D
    Import Exit Code: -1 - ~cnvpipe0=0D
    Msg 4854, Level 21, State 1, Server DATAPRO, Procedure , Line 1=0D
    [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]****=0D
    Time:02-01-2003 10:25:06.882=0D
    Error return from function CreateFile=0D
    in file CnvPipe.cpp=0D
    Line=3D143=0D
    rc=3D5=0D
    Msg=3DAccess is denied.=0D=0D
    =0D
    ****=0D
    ========================

    I hvae logged on using same domain user id on both servers(services are also runing with this id). Is it something wrong with the same server/virtual server problem????
    Any help please......

    Thanks

    Originally posted by nmajeed
    U da Man!!!!

    I got it.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Try creating all of the (empty) Databases before transferring the data. This way, you can force the data to go onto the shared disks, and not onto a local disk. Although, this sort of assumes that D:\ is a local disk for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by MCrowley
    Try creating all of the (empty) Databases before transferring the data. This way, you can force the data to go onto the shared disks, and not onto a local disk. Although, this sort of assumes that D:\ is a local disk for you.
    Yes I did that. Precreated database.
    And though the it got failed but it has already created all the database objects (blank).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,800
    Provided Answers: 11
    Check on the alias you created on S5. If it is a TCP/IP alias, create a new one for Named Pipes. Also, ping CRANE by name from S5 to see if it is available through DNS/WINS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •