Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Asp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    hyderabad
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: Asp

    hai friend,
    i am facing a problem in ASP3.0. i want to increase the row of the table dynamically. for that i desugned a table with 2 rows. i placed a button beside it and i want to inrease the row of the table by clicking the button. please anybody help me urgently.
    bye....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Can you be more specific ? When clicking on the button are you posting back to the same page ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    706
    When you click on the "Add new row" button the response will be sent back to the page. At this point you'll know that a request to add a new row was received, and you can generate the input fields. On the input HTML-form, another button (say "Add it now!") will be presented. Your ASP page must handle both of these types of requests.

    Very important: you're covering a lot of very familiar ground here, and you can be very certain that suitable ASP-code already exists out there on any number of related websites and forums.

    Actum Ne Agas: Do Not Do A Thing Already Done.
    ChimneySweep(R): fast, automatic
    table repair at a click of the
    mouse! http://www.sundialservices.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    You can response.write your rows using <tr> and <td> - where appropriate. Where is the data originating from that you need to population (a database ?) ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    191

    Just another thought....

    ASP is ok for this, i guess... but it requires the page to be reloaded.

    JavaScript is what you want if you need to do this "dynamically" on a single page load.

    Check out www.javascriptsource.com for TONS of good javascripts that do this particular thing and a whole lot more. I know for certain that scripts for adding table rows and columns are already posted there.

    Tim
    Tim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Yeah, but javascript is only useful when you already have the information you need - unless you use remote scripting. It just depends on what this page is supposed to do ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    191
    Originally posted by rnealejr
    Yeah, but javascript is only useful when you already have the information you need - unless you use remote scripting. It just depends on what this page is supposed to do ...
    Details, details....
    Tim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    I know - but most asp applications the way this one is described is involved in some database interaction. And yes, we do need more details, details ... describing this application.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,032
    And www.asp101.com has some good database examples in the site's Samples section.
    J. Paul Schmidt, Freelance Web and Database Developer
    www.Bullschmidt.com
    Access Database Sample, Web Database Sample, ASP Design Tips

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    454

    Are you going to do this?

    Are you going to do the thing like the page at
    http://www.careerengine.com/tellAfriend/tellfriend.asp? When you click Add More button with the number you select, the number of the text field will be increased. If yes, I can post some code here.
    Last edited by gyuan; 12-24-03 at 14:33.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •