Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: Backup And Restore problem

    Hi ,
    I am trying to copy a Database from one server to another with backup and restore. The problem is that after restore when I compare the 2 databases I found some difference between Source DB and target DB.

    I know its seems strange but its a fact.
    I comprea the DB with SqlCompare and SqlDatacompre.

    can someone help with that

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    311

    Re: Backup And Restore problem

    After the backup completed, was there any insert, update, or delete in the database?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12

    Re: Backup And Restore problem

    Hi,
    No . there where no changes, how ever the differnce between the 2 dataase are changes that were made a few hours b4 backup was taken.
    I though it might have somthing to do with checkpoint so I run the command checpoint on database before backup and even shutdown the server itself ,however same results. I don'n know if its matter but recovery model is SIMPLE (it is a development DB)
    10x
    Sandu

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    What is different ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12
    2 new tables and some data in other tables

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Just out of curiosity - have you tried the copy database wizard or dts ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12
    No , but probably will not have a choice but to try this methods

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Well, I would try this to help troubleshoot.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12
    Hi,
    Well the prolem with the copy wizard is that if I want to copy it to a differnt name I can't do it . if for example I have 2 servers srv1 with db1
    and srv2 with db1 and I want to create on srv2 a db called db2 which is copy of srv1.db1 I have to rename Databases and I want other people no DBA to be able to do it with one click

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    At least test it out to see if there are other issues. So, this sounds like a process you will repeat ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    What type of interface will these users use ? And what will they have access to and what parameters can they change ?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12
    Hi ,
    I am a part of a project develpment team , the projects has 2 databases
    one is a metadata DB and one is the application DB changes made in metaData shold be transfer to Testint and QA enviroments till now we did it with DTS that moved the Data but this process had to remove FK and than Rebuild them so I thought Backup /restore will be better but then I found the diffrences so maybe I 'll go back to the DTS even if I don't like it

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    It just sounds like your backup is not up to date - especially since the news tables do not appear.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    12
    I perform the backup b 4 the restore I do not use Old backup

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Have you tried the same operations on a database like pubs/northwind - assuming you still have them - meaning creating additional tables, backup and restore on the other server ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •