Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212

    Angry Unanswered: DTS Package as a job

    I tired to run a DTS package as a job and the job failed right away with the following message in the history of the job.

    I'm running the DTS package using the dtsrun cmd in the job.

    The error message:

    DTSRun: Loading... Error: -2147221005 (800401F3); Provider Error: 0 (0) Error string: Invalid class string Error source: Microsoft Data Transformation Services (DTS) Package Help file: sqldts.hlp Help context: 713. Process Exit Code 1. The step failed.


    W the f_is worng with it..... sorry this is urgent

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    That means that some object in your dts package has not been registered or is corrupt - Did this package run successfully from the dts designer ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    Well I have activex scripts, dynamic propeties task, sql tasks in the package. I ran perfect on the development server as a job but on the uat server it gives that error. what r they ways around this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Did you copy the package from the development server to this one ? Also, did you try running the package from the dts designer on this server ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    Originally posted by rnealejr
    Did you copy the package from the development server to this one ? Also, did you try running the package from the dts designer on this server ?
    Yes i coped the package from dev to uat. no i didnt becuase the pakage is built to be protable ie the connection data sources use (local) so they dont haveto be changed once they r promoted to different enivornments..... so if the package is run from the designer it wont use the uat server but my local server.... but if its run as a job it runs on the uat server....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    I would test the package and run it on the actual sql server uat through the dts designer. This will eliminate any issues between the differences in how sql server executes a job versus a dts package.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    Originally posted by rnealejr
    I would test the package and run it on the actual sql server uat through the dts designer. This will eliminate any issues between the differences in how sql server executes a job versus a dts package.
    I ran the package on the actual server through dts designer and it works fine. but running it as a job still gives me the invalid class string error.

    Plz advise.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Is the owner of the job a sa within sql server ? If it is, what is the login/permissions of the account that is used for the agent service ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    job owner is sa
    login/permissions are administrative rights (all access)

    generally what can generate this error?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    This might be related to permissions in the registry. What login is used to run the sql server agent service ? And what permissions does it have on this server ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    The sql server agent uses system login. I'm guessing the system login has all the rights etc

    fyi : it's running SQL7.0, Mdac version 2.5.4403.12

    Microsoft SQL Server 7.00 - 7.00.1077 (Intel X86) Sep 6 2002 15:10:15 Copyright (c) 1988-2002 Microsoft Corporation Standard Edition on Windows NT 4.0 (Build 1381: Service Pack 6)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    39
    You created the package using SQL 2000 Enterprise manager which has objects like dynamic properties task, that do not exist on SQL 7. You will be able to execute it through enterprise manager on your PC, but not as a job on the SQL 7 Server.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    212
    Thank you!... never realized that

    ne alternatives to dynamic task properties in sql7 ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    39
    Yes, use Active X scripts to assign properties to objects. Like this: Well you'll have to format it better, the small text box messed it up.

    Option Explicit
    Function Main()

    Dim oPKG
    Dim oCustomTask

    Set oPKG = DTSGlobalVariables.Parent

    oPKG.Tasks("DTSTask_DTSDataPumpTask_1").CustomTask .Properties.Item("DestinationObjectName").Value = DTSGlobalVariables("fundingTableName").Value
    oPKG.Tasks("DTSTask_DTSDataPumpTask_2").CustomTask .Properties.Item("SourceObjectName").Value = DTSGlobalVariables("tableName").Value
    oPKG.Tasks("DTSTask_DTSDataPumpTask_2").CustomTask .Properties.Item("DestinationObjectName").Value = DTSGlobalVariables("exportPath").Value
    oPKG.Tasks("DTSTask_DTSDataPumpTask_3").CustomTask .Properties.Item("DestinationObjectName").Value = DTSGlobalVariables("tableName").Value
    Set oPKG = Nothing

    Main = DTSTaskExecResult_Success
    End Function

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Nice catch shicks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •