Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    Question Unanswered: how to connect to sql server via vpn?

    I need know how can i connect to a ms sql server via a vpn connection

    thx and sorry for my bad english.

    simar
    Last edited by simar; 12-15-03 at 14:12.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Just like you were connected to a regular network.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy i try...

    but....don't work...

    i use sql query analyzer and put this values:

    SQL Server: 10.0.0.1
    Login Name: pepe
    Password: xxxx

    Try connect and a dialog box appears with the follow text

    ---------------------------
    SQL Query Analyzer
    ---------------------------
    Unable to connect to server 10.0.0.1:

    Server: Msg 17, Level 16, State 1
    [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][DBNETLIB]SQL Server does not exist or access denied.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    Notes:
    The VPN connection assign to me a dynamic ip (ex: 10.0.0.4)

    Please help me Thx!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Can you ping the ip for the sql server ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    No ping...

    Originally posted by rnealejr
    Can you ping the ip for the sql server ?
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 10.0.0.1

    Pinging 10.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 10.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Talk to your network admin to find out why you are unable to ping this ip. Can you see other network devices when you are connected to the vpn ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy notes...

    Originally posted by rnealejr
    Talk to your network admin to find out why you are unable to ping this ip. Can you see other network devices when you are connected to the vpn ?
    I have w2000 server i make a new connection via "Connect to a private network throught the internet" i put my host, username and pass and i connect Good! . I see the icon in the tray to the connection.

    But if i execute ipconfig i see...

    PPP adapter NTZN:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.4
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :


    and if i try ping to the host... 10.0.0.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 10.0.0.1

    Pinging 10.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 10.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    Note: In the connection Status i see a line with "Server IP address: 10.0.0.1"

    Thx.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    other devices...

    Originally posted by rnealejr
    ...Can you see other network devices when you are connected to the vpn ?
    How can i do this ?

    thx.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    212
    Sometimes you can't directly ping the pc. I also had this problem b4.
    First you have to check and see if your Server (10.0.0.1) has port 1433 opened to the network.

    Before you do this, make sure at your (10.0.0.1) server your SQL Server instance is using 1433 port from SQL-Server->Server Network Utility-> Enabled Protocols-> Click TCP/IP->Properties-> Make sure is 1433.


    You can't directly connect from QA from your own PC by specifiying the IP only cause u can't ping it in the first place.

    You need to make a Client Network connection first.

    Alias->Add->set network libraries=TCP/IP->Server Alias=ServerABC
    ->ServerName=10.0.0.1->Uncheck Dynamically Determine Port->
    Make sure it is 1433.

    Go to QA and connect using the Server Alias Name =ServerABC.

    Hope this help. But it could be different situation altogether.
    Patrick Chua
    LBMS ( Learn By My Self) NPQ ( No paper Qualification )

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    You can use telnet to connect to the appropriate sql port as a quick test.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    How can i do this ?
    Either you can ping other area known devices or use network places or find/search computer/printers. Also, you have no default gateway ... What is the output from ipconfig /all ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •