Thread: Sql tunning

Unanswered: Sql tunning

I am executing one sql statement like following

{+ ordered,avoid_full(locations),avoid_full(cg_ref_co des),avoid_full(shipments)}

loc_zone, cgr.rv_meaning, loc_id, shp.shp_bl, '' cnt_c_id
    cg_ref_codes cgr,
    locations loc,
    shipments shp,
    shipments shp1
    WHERE (loc_closed_bl = shp.shp_bl)
    OR (loc_shp_bl = shp1.shp_bl)
    (select 'X' from containers where cnt_loc_id = loc_id)
    AND loc_class = nvl('P', loc_class)
    AND loc_type = nvl('R', loc_type)
    AND cgr.rv_low_value = loc_zone
    AND cgr.rv_domain = 'ZONES'

This query takes 1 sec to execute ,When I am saying this query
    into temp sss with no log
    It never comes out . I am new to informix ,Can u pl. tell me all the possible reason why it is happening. I am facing same problem with most of quries while I am trying to replace the order by quries with temp .

When you do "and not exists" and other things like that in a query, it will quite naturally take longer. But for a DBMS to take one-second to do anything is beginning to get unusual.

There are a couple of things about your query that you really need to watch out for . . . . . . to avoid if you can help it. . .

(1) You don't want to create a situation where the DBMS might be forced to conduct a separate (nested...) search of one table (e.g. containers) for every record or even every group of records in another. Suddenly a 1,000 record table might generate 1,000 separate queries and we all know what 1,000 x 1,000 turns into: a really big number!

It's what a friend of mine calls "running out of seconds." There are only so many seconds in a day, and even at "X thousandths of a second" it doesn't take long to add up to [another favorite pun of his...] "real time!"