Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: cd.. access database duplication

    Very annoying problem..

    I am running a database on my terminal server. No problem..

    Each month I download to my laptop and from there duplicate to a cd


    The server database is running fine.

    The laptop database is running fine.

    The cd is not running fine.

    Not sure why?? Does anyone have any suggestions???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580

    Suggestion

    Suggestion - Post the error message!

    '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' ''''''''''''''''''''
    Are you trying to run from the CD itself?

    Im not sure if this will work - CD would be read-only?

    Try moving the cd onto a hard drive and run from there.
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    Re: Suggestion

    Originally posted by GinnyP
    no error message is given..

    I had it working last month. with no problem...

    When download to my laptop.. In order for it to work properly, I have to change permissions as well as the path.


    When I duplicate on to the disk it tells me it is only read only. I don't quite understand why I had it working last mothe and now it won't work.



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5
    I tried your suggestion of putting the cd onto the harddrive .. of the laptop.. works fine.


    So any other suggestions?


    Thanks in advance..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1

    Lightbulb

    Originally posted by GinnyP
    I tried your suggestion of putting the cd onto the harddrive .. of the laptop.. works fine.


    So any other suggestions?


    Thanks in advance..
    When you open a .mdb file it needs to open .ldb file on the same directory where you started, so when you start form the CD, the program can not write on the cd.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5
    then explain why I got it to work last month???

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580

    Unhappy You did not....er?

    You did not run it "from the cd", unless you were running it from a re-recordable cd in a drive of that type?

    Hammbakka is correct - unless anyone can explain another reason!
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5

    Re: You did not....er?

    Originally posted by garethdart
    You did not run it "from the cd", unless you were running it from a re-recordable cd in a drive of that type?

    Hammbakka is correct - unless anyone can explain another reason!

    I did runn it from the cd because I sent it to a client offsite and they were able to add, update and delete any information they wanted. I am not sure what I did to make it work but I know it worked last month and the month before. Thanks for your help anyway. If I come up with the solution I will share..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    580

    Client

    Ask them if they copied it to hard drive first...I think you will find that they did.

    If I am wrong, I will hold my hand up, but in my opinion, what you are describing is impossible.
    Windows Server 2003-8 / Terminal Services / SQL 2000 / Access 2003 / Office 2003-7 / Exchange 2003-7 / Blackberry Enterprise Server / AutoCAD / Lambert And Butler / Red Bull

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1
    Originally posted by GinnyP
    then explain why I got it to work last month???

    You coud run it form the CD if your CD is formated to be like a hard drive.

    i.i Using someting like inCD of Nero

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    66
    I found (in Access 97) that once you burn the DB onto a CD it's attributes are set to 'read only' automatically - copy the DB from the CD to the hard drive, right click on the .mdb, and uncheck the 'read-only' check box in the General tab of its properties.

    D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •