Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10

    Unanswered: Motorola ACC4000

    The Motorola ACC4000 is a specific Unix machine used by cable tv providers, to deal with customer rights.
    This computer, as my research on the internet showed it, uses a Sybase Database, but i have no idea what version it is.
    My first aim is to connect to that machine and get a scheme of the actual database.

    I still can't connect to it via telnet, but within days, i'll be able to reach it, so what would be the best plan to get what i need ?

    1. How can i know which version of Sybase is running on the ACC4000 ?
    2. Where can i find adequat ODBC drivers ?
    3. Is Power designer a good idea for reverse engineering a Sybase db?
    4. What software could be used to make regular sql queries (as Toad for Oracle, for example) ?

    thx in advance for your help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    524
    1) dataserver -v
    2) depending the ODBC driver you will use, you need the TCPIP of the Unix machine + the port nr used by the ASE. You can find it in the $SYBASE/interfaces file
    3) yes
    4) isql, SQLAdvantage, SQLJ or non-Sybase solution (e.g. DBArtisan (Embarcadero))

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bend Oregon
    Posts
    3

    Re: Motorola ACC4000

    I also am working on a Motorola ACC4000. I'd like to access its database and need some help. It has a network card in it, but it seems to be a proprietary card. According to all documents, trial and error, and contact with Motorola, it just isn't a standard ethernet card.

    Did you ever get a connection to this device. If you did please let me know how you did it. I was considering adding another nic to the system and working it from that route. The problem is this is a live ACC4000 so I can't mess around with it too much. Any help and success info that you've had that you could share would be much appreciated. --Jeremy





    Originally posted by VsMetal
    The Motorola ACC4000 is a specific Unix machine used by cable tv providers, to deal with customer rights.
    This computer, as my research on the internet showed it, uses a Sybase Database, but i have no idea what version it is.
    My first aim is to connect to that machine and get a scheme of the actual database.

    I still can't connect to it via telnet, but within days, i'll be able to reach it, so what would be the best plan to get what i need ?

    1. How can i know which version of Sybase is running on the ACC4000 ?
    2. Where can i find adequat ODBC drivers ?
    3. Is Power designer a good idea for reverse engineering a Sybase db?
    4. What software could be used to make regular sql queries (as Toad for Oracle, for example) ?

    thx in advance for your help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10
    I'm unfortunately not in charge of this part of the project, but i'll try to get the info as soon as i can.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bend Oregon
    Posts
    3

    Talking ACC4000 help greatly appreciated

    Any help with this fella would be greatly appreciated

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chiba City
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb

    Srtech : plz icq me 35249877 and i will introduce you in how to interface that motorola/gi acc4000



    btw: it has standard ethernets ( 3 cards ) 1 optional onboard anic 1 modem 2 serial ports 1 serial multiports cards (4 ports) with 1 multiplexer attached with 8 ports

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bend Oregon
    Posts
    3

    thanks

    Great, I'll icq you as soon as I get a chance today. Thanks for comming to my rescue. ---SRtech



    Originally posted by fxd0h
    Srtech : plz icq me 35249877 and i will introduce you in how to interface that motorola/gi acc4000



    btw: it has standard ethernets ( 3 cards ) 1 optional onboard anic 1 modem 2 serial ports 1 serial multiports cards (4 ports) with 1 multiplexer attached with 8 ports

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    10
    Okay, i'm now in charge of ACC4000 ip connection
    I was working on a test acc4000 and i thought someone in my company did make it work, but Motorola did it . And Motorola doesn't want to apply these changes on prod acc4000, so i might need your help a little bit too, fxd0h, if you agree.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chiba City
    Posts
    2
    Its ok , icq me.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Need help on this topic ASAP!!!!

    Please reply to me!!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Red face

    I'm having issues with the ACC4000 in the channel islands. No support from Jerrold / Motorola, but no surprise there really. Unable to get ACC4000 install disks for love nor money. It's such a waste of time tbh.

    I'm trying to build a spare duplicate machine and have had problem after problem. Got an old ACC4000 but someone managed to put NT on the hard disk. Trouble is the hard disk does have the BIOS information on it now, and that has been deleted

    We have managed to use the spare NIC to connect to the machine with a laptop. Run both machines up using Knoffix and think I have managed to extract the data from the live machine and now intend to clone the data onto the spare, once I have the BIOS information installed. What a complete nightmare....

    Thought I'd just add this, not sure if anyone is following this thread anymore, but this ACC had cause me nothing but grief.

    Cheers Phill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •