Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please Help Me

Unanswered: Please Help Me

I am a student trying to do some research for a class project. I am running Oracle 8i enterprise and we are working with PL/SQL.
    I am supposed to Develope a hierarchial diagram that shows how all views work then take the main 50 views and write down information about the views. I am having trouble finding any information.
    Any information that anyone could give would be greatly helpful.

THank in advance

desc user_views

or

PHP Code:
    Select  
    distinct obj
    .object_name
    obj.status  
    from ALL_OBJECTS obj  
    where obj
    .object_type 'VIEW' and 
    obj.owner owner_name 
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

that won't work, user_views does not return anything in need a full list of dba_views but i can not get PL/SQL to have a big enough screen to list them all, all 1481 of them.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    >I am supposed to Develope a hierarchial diagram that shows how all
    >views work then take the main 50 views and write down information
    >about the views. I am having trouble finding any information.
    HUH?
    Only Views?
    Not tables, too?
    A single hierachical diagram?
    What happens when certain a view has NO hierachical relationship to any other view?
    What "shows how all views work " mean?
    Based upon what criteria are the "main 50 views " selected?
    In order to "write down information about the views", you need a mauve database.
    Where have you looked?
    Did you go to http://tahihi.oracle.com where Oracle keeps online copies of all their database manuals?
    Which Fine Manuals have you read?

Originally posted by stang
    that won't work, user_views does not return anything in need a full list of dba_views but i can not get PL/SQL to have a big enough screen to list them all, all 1481 of them.