Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    212

    Unanswered: Job from Local DTS Package not running

    Hi,

    I created a DTS to run a VB.net exe from local packages dts.
    If I execute the package, it would do what I want.
    I scheduled it to be a job running every minute of every day to test out the schedule.

    The job status only stays at "Excuting Job Step 1"...and this hangs there forever.

    I've check my SQLServerAgent is started.

    Some info:
    my sqlserveragent service is run under a username specifically for SQLServer I call "SQLService".
    I'm using SQL Server Developer Edition.

    Anyone can explain why this is happenning? I'm running into dead alleys here.
    Patrick Chua
    LBMS ( Learn By My Self) NPQ ( No paper Qualification )

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Dark Planet
    Posts
    1,401
    Why do you want to do that using SQL . Can It not be done through Windows task Scheduler ???
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

    order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    212
    Cause it needs to be refresh almost a few minutes...or hour..depending..

    Windows Task shceduler...I'm using w2k....only details the time of the day, and repeats only on "daily" basis.


    So...anything I should check???
    Patrick Chua
    LBMS ( Learn By My Self) NPQ ( No paper Qualification )

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Dark Planet
    Posts
    1,401
    Try going to the advanced schedule properties in windows task scheduler ... you can schedule for every hour nad minute
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

    order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    212
    Thanks, I can see the detail settings from my home pc...(XP)...
    Will try that once I'm at work.

    Well....if it works...anything goes...but for knowledge sake, what could have possibly cause the job to just hang? Any ideas?
    Patrick Chua
    LBMS ( Learn By My Self) NPQ ( No paper Qualification )

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Dark Planet
    Posts
    1,401
    I dont think you can call an external exe from a job or xp_cmdshell ... havent found out a way to do so yet.
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

    order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •