Question Unanswered: Report automation

Is there a way to set up a scheduler in Access to schedule a report to run say every Friday afternoon and email to the users? I am not a programmer but seems like there should be a way to do this.

Well darby..…I’m going to brave this post simply because no one is biting on it.

Your suspicions are correct. There is a way. There are lots of ways. The trouble is, you will need to know something about VB or VBA programming otherwise you are going to be completely lost with what you will be looking at….the required code to do it. Unless one of these fine people that view this forum is willing to attach a DB with the sample code you need to accomplish the task, your post will turn into a small book.

A front end unit (in any programming language) can be written to even utilize the MS Windows Scheduler or Outlook and through Windows Automation email your reports. Or it could be done directly through Access providing your DB it is up and running all the time. There are a lot of different variables to play with here.

Just as a simple example this would be how you could Output Multiple Reports to One Word File Automatically.

Let’s say you have a list of reports you have to send to a customer or a specific individual. This has to be done every so often and takes too long. As well as that the reports need to be in word format, which takes even more time, and there are 50 of them.

Create a new form. On this form put a list box called LIST0. Either fill the list box via code (see List all Reports example) or from a table via a query. Create a button called SENDIT. Go into the code for the form by clicking the code button on the toolbar and paste the following code.

Private Sub  SENDIT_Click()
       On Error GoTo ERRORHANDLER  
       Dim varItem As  Variant
       If List0.ItemsSelected.Count>0 Then 
          Dim AppWord As New Word.Application 
          Dim DocWrd As Word.Document 
          Dim i As Integer