Unanswered: Coming from FoxPro - help!

I am a FoxPro programmer needing to switch to Access. 2 questions...

1) Does anyone know of any resources that explain Access to a FoxPro user?
    2) My immediate mental block is not knowing which table I am adding a record to because I feel like I need to set the current database to the table I want. How do I determine which table I am working on? When I add a record using an add button, how do I know which table I am adding to?

Thank you for any help! I've programmed for years, but all of a sudden I feel pretty ignorant!

WHardy7

Re: Coming from FoxPro - help!

Originally posted by WHardy7
    I am a FoxPro programmer needing to switch to Access. 2 questions...

1) Does anyone know of any resources that explain Access to a FoxPro user?
    2) My immediate mental block is not knowing which table I am adding a record to because I feel like I need to set the current database to the table I want. How do I determine which table I am working on? When I add a record using an add button, how do I know which table I am adding to?

Thank you for any help! I've programmed for years, but all of a sudden I feel pretty ignorant!

WHardy7
    Welcome... I know how you feel... When I first started working with Access it took me a while to figure out the thing... and VBA... lol...

Which verion of Access are you switching to?

1) No idea... Wish I could help...
    2) Well that sort of depends.... There are different ways to do that...

Are you adding a record from a Form?... If so, if the Form recordset is bound to the table you want to add to, and the controls on the form are also bound to it... it can be as simple as entering the data and tab-ing to the next record...

Or if you are wanting to add records programmatically ... you can use DAO or ADO... I've worked with Access 97 for years now so I'm way more comfortable with DAO...