Red face Unanswered: SQLServerAgent Startup Problem - Cluster

Hi There,

I'm a rookie to SQL and cluster. Please help me.

I've a problem with starting SQL Agent on our second node. Hence, no failover. SQL#1 start SQL Agent no problem but SQL#2 have problem starting SQLAgent.

Information:-
    *It's a Windows 2000 cluster
    *It's a Windows SQL Server Cluster
    *It's a Active/Passive (or failover) cluster
    *In SQL#2 event log. Event ID: 103 - SQLServerAgent could not be started (reason: Unable to connect to server '(local)'; SQLServerAgent cannot start). Please see errors below.
    *In SQL Log. SQLServer Error: 18456, Login failed for user 'sa'. [SQLSTATE 28000]

Pretty sure the SA password is correct. Orderwise, SQL#1 wouldn't start.

Many Thanks In Advance.
    aeng

Event ID's:

Event Type: Error
    Event Source: ClusSvc
    Event Category: Services
    Event ID: 1069
    Date: 17/12/2003
    Time: 17:26:46
    User: N/A
    Computer: BBI_SQL2
    Description:
    Cluster resource 'SQL Server Agent' failed.

Event Source: SQLSERVERAGENT
    Event Category: Service Control
    Event ID: 103
    Date: 17/12/2003
    Time: 17:26:41
    User: N/A
    Computer: BBISQLCLUSTER
    Description:
    SQLServerAgent could not be started (reason: Unable to connect to server '(local)'; SQLServerAgent cannot start).

Did you check ms's site - I seam to remember something about the agent and clustering ?

Thanks..... I had a look before but there are nothing really useful. If you come across it again can you please let me know.

Please help guys.......

What authentification are you using under the sql server agent ? Also, what service pack is currently installed ?

Also, what account is being used to start the agent service ? If it is sa, try to login as sa with the password through query analyzer - and if successful, then reenter the password.

Sorry - I've been on holiday. Happy new year to you.

- There are current NO SP installed on this cluster.