Unanswered: I'm very new to databases - few concept questions...

I am pretty familiar with MS access. I took some classes and i enjoy it very much. I can make nice relational tables, queries etc etc....

Recently, i've been trying to make all this work on a website.

I want me to be able to go to my website, and enter information directly into the database through the web interface...

After much research i found that MS access is not the best since it's only really made to work on a LAN or VPN. I can do "pages" but they require the client PC to have the office suite installed on it. Also, it's very difficult to get the MSaccess "pages" to work on the internet. They are really meant to work only on an intrAnet.

So I'm thinking - mysql.
    The problem is, that i don't know what mysql is. I've reasearch it alto but too many results come up an most of them are too complicated to understand.

I downloaded mysql for windows from www.mysql.com

1) Can i create relational tables with it?
    2) Can i creat queries?
    3) Can i easly have a php web interface that connects to it?
    I've read that i have to configure my webserver? i've read something about OBDC in control panel?

So what if I want to put this on a webserver that you pay for? Will they charge me extra to configure it to work with my databases?

any begginner links would be appreciated
    Noam

Bin there

Bin there! Actually, I'm pretty much still there. I found MySQL quite easy to set up on a local server. Its free, fast and secure (though lacks some features that, as relative beginners, we probably don't need).