What are the most common database failures?

Hi!

I need to write a paper(about 10 pages) about problems with database initiation.(when you try to initiate the database) I cannot find any literature on the web. Please Help.

is this aimed at a specific RDBMS?

No it is ment databases in general.

Could you define "database initiation" in your own words? The term is alien to me. You'll have to to do better than "when you initiate the database." Are you sure "initiate" is the right word?

Could it be "initialization"?

Yeah.. sorry i dont know what is the apropriate word in english. i ment when you are finished with the database and you try to make it work (with the bussiness and the user) - what problems appear.

I'm no expert on this, but here is a list I've taken from another topic that touch upon areas that can fail. I don't have examples off hand.
    • Goal - Differentiation
    • People - Education, Training, Experience
    • Data - Definition, Manipulation, Query
    • Process - Function, Procedure, Recursion
    • Network - Processing, Storage, Communication
    • Schedule - Start, End, Duration, Dependencies

We can discuss these points.

thanks. do you think i could also use these reasons (from data warehouse) on http://www.mimno.com/avoiding-mistakes.html ?

I don't see why not.

Frupy:

I would research the Microsoft Access database forum. You may find some useful information there.

Microsoft Access was designed as a friendly, powerful, customizable, desktop program that would allow both novice as well as expert database designers to build solutions quickly, and at a reasonable cost.

Microsoft Access fills a large niche market between Microsoft Excel (the number-crunching spreadsheet program) and the larger more complex databases (such as SQL Server or Oracle).