Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: Windows lost my database - HELP !

    Hello, all

    Yesturday I was using Access 2000 and had a database up. I was also logged on AOL software. Well AOL crashed/froze and was forced to reboot. When I went back to Access my database was still on the recent list, but was not there. It's totally missing in the directory where it and other databases reside. All the other databases are fine. I suspect windows erase it from the FAT. I can't use any repair programs because nothing is there. Does anyone know what's going on and what to do ? Help please. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Was this a new database not yet saved?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by M Owen
    Was this a new database not yet saved?
    No, It was an old database which was being used regularly.
    thanks for the quick reply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    And it is not there now? I've not heard of windows blowing out a file like this before ... Were you in the middle of an update when the reboot occurred?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by M Owen
    And it is not there now? I've not heard of windows blowing out a file like this before ... Were you in the middle of an update when the reboot occurred?
    Yeah it's not there anymore in the directrory. All the others are there. No, I don't think it was updating at the time. It was just loaded and AOL was running. Came back into room and noticed screen was frozen. I think when I logged off AOL, this happened. AOL has a tendcy to crash. Might not even be related to the AOL software, but I think I need to clean up my harddrive. If windows just erased the entry in it's file allocation table, the database might still be there. I'm not knowledgeable enough in this area though. Thanks again for the quick reply. Any help is appriciated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    What version of windows are you running?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by M Owen
    What version of windows are you running?
    win98
    The database comes up when you select it from the opening diaolog box. But when you select it, it pulls up an empty database with the wizard box. The tables, forms, reports are also missing. It seems access recognizes the name but can't find the data. I really appriciate your help. Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6
    Don't really have anything else that I can tell that will help. Looks like I might have to recreate this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    I think you're hosed ... I was hoping that you might be able to undelete or something ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1
    Did you try to use Norton Utilities?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6
    Yes I tried system doctor in Norton. No luck. Going to rebuild database. Thanks for all the replys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •