Unanswered: Quick help needed - Query based prob

Ok this is for a Video Rental database system. I've got the query:

SELECT Count(FilmName) AS Number_Of_Rentals
    FROM FilmTBL LEFT JOIN RentalTBL ON FilmTBL.FilmID=RentalTBL.FilmID
    WHERE FilmName LIKE [Film Name?];

That counts the number of rentals made for a particular film. I then want a Stock query which says "Yes you need to order more stock" or "No you do not need to order more stock". For this to work I need some kindof "if(=" query or something but I'm an utter noob at queries so I dont know how the "if" works.

Am I right in thinking that the first query must put the results into a seperate table for the Stock query to work? Or can I do something like this:

(SELECT Count(FilmName) AS Number_Of_Rentals
    WHERE FilmName="Mission Impossible]=A

(SELECT Count(FilmName) AS Number_Of_Rentals
    WHERE FilmName="Die Hard]=B

And then have the Stock query like this:

if A>30 then printf "You need to order more stock for this film"
    }
    else printf "You do not need to order more stock for this film"
    if B>30 then printf "You need to order more stock for this film"
    }
    else printf "You do not need to order more stock for this film"

I would really appreciate some help as this is for a school project and I'm very new to databases and queries.

Thanks.

Viking-ex,

Since you only need two answers (stock is sufficient or stock is low) you can use the IIF() statement. The first parameter is the test that you make (is the current stock lower than the minimum for reorder?) The second parameter is what you display if the condition is true, and the third parameter is what you display if the condition is false.

I mocked up a hasty example. See the attachment.

This is by no means a finished example - for one thing you have to have something to increment or decrease the stock level after each stock reorder or customer purchase. But it should give you the general idea.