Thread: Keys!!??

Keys!!??

Hi.

I am fairly new to relational databases. I am having a bit of difficulty fully understanding the proper use of keys (primary, foreign) in relational databases. I've read several articles on DB design, but I'm having some doubts about my understanding. What I do understand is that the primary key makes records unique and foreign keys are used to relate to primary keys in other tables.

My question is, can one or more foreign key(s) in a table be considered the primary key (without a separate id for the table)?

Let me illustrate...

I have a table called PERSON with PID, First Name, Last Name, Country (PK = PID).
    I have a table called SYMPTOM with SID, Name (PK = SID).

I have a table called HISTORY with PID, SID, Date which represents the date each person developed a symptom. To make the records for each record unique, the Primary Key (PK) should be PID,SID (assumption is that each symptom can only develop once, thus one date, and each person can have more than one symptom - more than one person can have the same symptom). PID and SID are both foreign keys to different tables - can they be the primary keys or must I create another key for this table? i.e., HID, PID, SID, Date (PK = HID), where HID is a unique number for this table and it would then be the primary key and PID and SID would be the foreign keys?

Can either way be used? If I can use PID/SID as the PK and avoid creating a unique key HID, my table would be smaller. Is this a matter of pros and cons of using one over the other? If so, what are they?

Thanks very much!

Re: Keys!!??

Yes, that can happen. However, many projects will implement dummy keys in all tables and would create a surrogate key using the two foreign keys you mentioned.

Some RDBMS vendors, like Oracle, teach that every table should have a primary key that has 5 characteristics:
    1. unique
    2. nerver null
    3. short
    4. numeric
    5. meaningless