Thread: Database Design

Database Design

I'm new to the concept of relational database design, and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a schema on a project I'm working on.

I have to design a database to accept the input from an academic evaluation form, but the problem is many of the questions on the form change from year to year.

I was thinking that I could create a "response" table flexible enough to accept the data from each year, and then create question tables for each year (e.g. 2001questions, 2002questions etc.). When I displayed the data I could match up "response_1" from a 2001 evaluation with "question_1" from the 2001questions table. Can anyone think of a better way to do this? Thanks.

You should normalize Year out of Question. No need for a table for every year. Response is the product of a combination of a question and a student.

Year(YearID, YearName)

Question(QuestionID, YearID, QuestionText)

Student(StudentID, StudentName)

Response(StudentID, QuestionID, ResponseText)

Is one possible model.

Lightbulb

I agree. Each evaluation_form consists of a series of questions, each numbered sequentially. All of the questions have a sequence-number (to keep them in order) and the form_id of the exam they belong to.

Each completed_evaluation has a similar one-to-many format. First there is the evaluation-record (which describes who gave the response, and what form_id it was. Then there is a table of question_responses each linked to the completed_evaluation that owns it and to the question_id (thence to the evaluation_form) of the question being answered.

So you have two sets of tables with 1->Many relationships. The first describes forms and their questions. The second describes responses and the question-by-question answers given to them.

Any number of forms are supported, with any number of questions each. And any number of responses can be stored too.
    ChimneySweep(R): fast, automatic
    table repair at a click of the