Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12

    Red face Unanswered: http://localhost.localdomain:7777/isqlplus

    I am problem to connect
    Whenever I try(as oracle user or root)
    I get "Connection to localhost refused"
    How to fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    1) No OS or OS version for server specified.
    2) No version Oracle DB specified.
    3) No OS or version for client specified.
    4) No clues provided that Apache is even running.
    5) No clues prodived that client even find server (DNS, hosts, etc).
    My crystal ball is broken.
    You're On Your Own (YOYO)!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12

    Red face More details

    OS Redhat 9
    Oracle 9i db
    I have no idea about Apache. it seems that there are 2 versions on my machine.I am not an Apache PRO.
    I am trying to use http://localhost.localdomain:7777/isqlplus
    but all I get is "Connection to localhost is refused"
    I tried under oracle user and under root, no way to query my db from my mozilla browser, nor galen browser.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    http://metalink.oracle.com/metalink/...&p_id=185707.1
    How to Install and Configure iSQL*Plus

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12

    I tried that website, but too vague to understand.

    I tried that website, but too vague to understand.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make him think :-(
    YOYO!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    354
    First of all, a couple of answers:

    I have no idea about Apache. it seems that there are 2 versions on my machine.I am not an Apache PRO.
    The reason you are seeing 2 versions of Apache is because there are two versions loaded. Most all *NIX installations come with Apache as part of the package deal. It also happens that since version 8i, Oracle has shipped with its own version of Apache too.

    I am trying to use http://localhost.localdomain:7777/isqlplus
    but all I get is "Connection to localhost is refused"
    To address the problem that is causing you the real grief and brought you here, you will have to look at your TNSNAMES.ORA and LISTENER.ORA files. I've not used iSQLPlus often but have found that most of my problems can be resolved by making sure I am going where I think I going. Try a couple of things: On the log in screen for iSQLPlus, try supplying a TNSNAMES alias for the database you want. My guess is that you are leaving it blank; second, if you want to access the local database, you might have to add another LISTENER for TCP traffic -- it could be you only have an IPC listener set up.

    Hope this helps.

    JoeB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    HTTP does NOT use TNSNAMES.ORA or LISTENER.ORA to make a connection. Keep in mind that from ANY PC, whether or not Oracle
    client software in installed can use any Web Browser to connect
    to any Web Server. The problem is with APACHE, but since OP
    does not want to be bothered by looking at it, the URL will ALWAYS fail.
    APACHE is the what accepts (or not) the incoming HTTP request; since
    APACHE is the most widely used Web Server on this planet.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    354
    I am aware that HTTPD (not HTTP, which is a protocol, NOT a program) does not use TNSNAMES or LISTENER.ORA files. However, the product, iSqlPlus does use these files as this is a web front-end to a sql prompt, therefore will require and use some of the same resources as any other Oracle product installed on the computer; hence, the need to make sure these files are set correctly.

    As to the original problem, a third problem could be causing you to error out as you have. If your /etc/hosts file is not set correctly, you might get the message you received. From your browser URL line, try using http://localhost:7777/isqlplus or substitute the actual IP address.

    One question that I have is at what point do you get the error your mentioned? First thing that comes up, or do you actually see an iSqlPlus screen.

    Regards,

    JoeB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12

    Working on it

    Cool, I am trying, soon will give u answer
    Thanks JOE

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    12

    Answers

    I get the error when i click go (enter) on my browser
    nothing else, the web page stays blank. I cannot get the isqlplus page at all.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    156
    Originally posted by anacedent
    You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make him think :-(
    YOYO!
    You can take a donkey to water, but you can't make him drink.
    rgs,

    Ghostman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •