Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Haywards Heath Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: Tables in Database window not showing

    Access 2000 running on Windows 2000 Professional. All was fine for a while and all of a sudden I cannot see the Tables or Queries. From what I can see nothing has changed. No permissions have been granted or denied and I have tried it on other PCs with other OS and it is just the same. It also does not show any Queries in the database window either so it is just Tables and Queries that are the problem. Forms, Reports etc are all showing.
    If I click on Relationships it has all the Tables there but just not in the Database window. Also if I create a new table all is normal until I look for this in the Database window and this is also not showing.
    I have looked at an earlier version I was using in November and all is well on this one.
    I have also tried to create a new database and import all the tables from the one that is not working properly but once again they are not showing so I can't import them.
    Any ideas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    What user are you logging in as? Do you have permission to read/write?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Haywards Heath Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by M Owen
    What user are you logging in as? Do you have permission to read/write?
    Thanks for your reply.
    I have tried is as Administrator or user and it is still the same. I have got all permissions to read and write.
    Alan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    117

    Try this

    Open your db. Click on the top of the toolbar....Select Tools.....Options....then Click on the View tab. Make sure that Hidden objects and System Objects ARE checked. It may be that the tables got selected to be hidden. This will allow them not to show in the db but be seen on the relationships form.

    Let me know if this works. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    1,969
    Provided Answers: 1
    Try in the Access Menu Window/ Cascasde

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Haywards Heath Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Try this

    Originally posted by jmonroe
    Open your db. Click on the top of the toolbar....Select Tools.....Options....then Click on the View tab. Make sure that Hidden objects and System Objects ARE checked. It may be that the tables got selected to be hidden. This will allow them not to show in the db but be seen on the relationships form.

    Let me know if this works. Thanks.
    Thanks Jeremy,
    I have tried this but unfortunately it does not make any difference.

    Regards
    Alan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    117

    Post the DB

    Are you willing or able to post the db? I can see if it does the same behavior for me. If it does, I can try and see what I can do.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Haywards Heath Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Post the DB

    Originally posted by jmonroe
    Are you willing or able to post the db? I can see if it does the same behavior for me. If it does, I can try and see what I can do.
    Yes I could send it to you but it is just over 6MB so I am not sure if this would work. Maybe I should copy it and delete some of the records to make it smaller.

    Alan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    117

    Doesn't matter

    If your ISP will allow you to send it, I can receive any size file. I host my own email and website so I have no limit on my exchange box as to how big my email can be.

    Send to jeremymonroe@automatictelecom.net

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Haywards Heath Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Doesn't matter

    Originally posted by jmonroe
    If your ISP will allow you to send it, I can receive any size file. I host my own email and website so I have no limit on my exchange box as to how big my email can be.

    Send to jeremymonroe@automatictelecom.net

    Thanks.
    I have also just tried it on Win 98 but still no luck so I will e-mail it to your address as above. I notice I cannot do this from this forum.

    Cheers
    Alan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    117

    Invisible Tables

    I have been looking at your database. I was wondering if this was a db that was split already and they backend db is elsewhere or not? I have everything wide open in Access on my machine as I usually do, and I still cannot seem to get the tables to display, however I do see them in the relationships report. I am sure that they will still show in the relationships report even when the db is split. Let me know if this is the case or not.

    Thanks.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Haywards Heath Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6

    Re: Invisible Tables

    Originally posted by jmonroe
    I have been looking at your database. I was wondering if this was a db that was split already and they backend db is elsewhere or not? I have everything wide open in Access on my machine as I usually do, and I still cannot seem to get the tables to display, however I do see them in the relationships report. I am sure that they will still show in the relationships report even when the db is split. Let me know if this is the case or not.

    Thanks.
    No this has never been split. I have used this for over a year and then one day after a normal close down the previous day, I needed to change something and noticed I could no longer see the Tables or Queries.
    You are experiencing exactly what I am seeing.

    Alan

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1

    Talking Invisible Tables and Queries

    I had the same problem happen with me -- the tables and queries were no longer visible, but the database was performing correctly and the forms, reports and macros were all visible.

    I tried making them "unhidden", but that didn't make them visible again either.

    So I decided to try to compact/repair the database to see what would happen, and what do you know -- my tables and queries are back!!

    I don't know if somehow the database became corrupted, or if it just became too large, but either way everything is now visible again.

    Yay!!!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    same here

    i've just had this happen and my file size is the same it was before 115M, just wondering, if there was ever a solution? I even tried the repair and fix on a copy, no files are hiddent, and no tables displayed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •