Unanswered: Matching records from different tables???

Not as simple as it seems, I need to match records from two different tables easy I know, only problem is that the only common field is the company name and it seems that the two tables carry slightly different details on some of the companies... I.E.

Table 1 Table 2

B & Q B & Q PLC
    Sainsburys Sainsburys PLC

I need info stored in table 1 such as address tel etc, to show with information held in table 2 (advertising spend).

Can you run any SQL I'm not that good with SQL though so simple terms please, to find a part match, or first 5 letter match or something like that, Im sure one of you clever guys can do it.

Please help........

Re: Matching records from different tables???

You can try this.

Create a new fields in both your tables. These fields will both hold the shortened company data: shortened to 5 chars.

Create a new Update query based on tbl1. In the query, add your new field and insert an expression like this into the "Update To:" box:
    mid([companytablename],1,5).

That expression will take the first 5 characters of your company data and put them into your new field. The SQL should look something like this:

UPDATE Table1 SET Table1.ShortCoName = Mid("companyname",1,5);

Repeat the process for table 2. You now have 2 tables that can be compared to each other.

Good luck - Andy

Great help on the above code, but have come across another problem, some company names are long names like "South West Electrical Centre" and some are small like "Tooltech" with the small ones it works brilliantly in matching them, but you can imagine in the South West their are a lot of business which start with South West (Fools!) anyway is their a way that I can split the information held into two tables one holding all customer names with less than 10 letters in the word and another table which holds customers whose name contain more than 10 letters,

If anyone understands that HELP............................