Unanswered: newbie to mysql, trying to do a query and have first(select ..)

hi guys, im a newbie to mysql and what im trying to do is...

i have two tables in the mysql database intranet, and the first table is called taskstat, and the second is todos

taskstat:
    Code:
    status_id      status
    1                 open
    2                 closed

todos:

todo_id        status_id
    1                 1
    2                 2
    3                 2
    this is just a simplified version of the tables, it originaly contains lots of other information..

what i want to do is, have it so when i display the information about the "todos" table, when it reads the status_id from todo, it will display it as open or closed because it would find that info out from taskstat table..

currently we have this query:

<czdataset ittasks1 intranet todos query "select todo_id,item,description,status_id,creator_id,assi gned_id,date_created,date_fixed,first(select status from taskstat where taskstat.status_id=todos.status_id) as status from todos where status_id = '1'" "todo_id,item,description,status_id,creator_id,ass igned_id,date_created,date_fixed" "*:*" >

so that when i put "status" as a field, it will display open or closed

however, with this i get the following error:

Error Type:
    Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers (0x80040E14)
    [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Incorrect syntax near the keyword 'select'.
    /it/archtml.asp, line 493

i would really appreciate any help on this, thanks!

Re: newbie to mysql, trying to do a query and have first(select ..)

You are using a version of mysql that doesn't support sub-selects. You need to rewrite the query as a join. it will look like:
    Code:
    SELECT ..., status FROM todos, taskstat
    WHERE ... todos.status_id = taskstat.status_id;