Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Backup to Disk

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12

    Unhappy Unanswered: Backup to Disk

    Hi,

    I have Informix 9.3 installed on a Sun Server.

    I had setup onbar to backup my database to disk (no tape device available) and this was due to be backed up by a Legato Backup of my file system.

    However, ISM conflicts with Legato and the backup of the file system failed.

    I am now looking into alternative methods to backup my database.

    I read an article about using ontape but it mentions a script, infback.sh, that I cannot find on my system.

    Can anyone recommend a good way that I can backup my database to disk and then use Legato to backup the file system.

    Does anyone have the details of infback.sh and its other required scripts.

    Thanks,

    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780

    Re: Backup to Disk

    Originally posted by tlohan
    Hi,

    I have Informix 9.3 installed on a Sun Server.

    I had setup onbar to backup my database to disk (no tape device available) and this was due to be backed up by a Legato Backup of my file system.

    However, ISM conflicts with Legato and the backup of the file system failed.

    I am now looking into alternative methods to backup my database.

    I read an article about using ontape but it mentions a script, infback.sh, that I cannot find on my system.

    Can anyone recommend a good way that I can backup my database to disk and then use Legato to backup the file system.

    Does anyone have the details of infback.sh and its other required scripts.

    Thanks,

    Tom
    Hi Tom,

    To do back-up to disk I think that it is better to utilize ontape.
    You must change in ONCONFIG, the parameter TAPEDEV=/path_of_file,
    TAPESIZE=size of file-system - 10 %.
    Then run ontape -s -L 0
    I think that is more easy, to do back-up to disk, run ontape that onbar.

    Now, another form and more secure, is to do dbexport, if possible.

    Gustavo.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    China,Fujian
    Posts
    8

    Re: Backup to Disk

    if the database size more than 2G,can i still set
    the parameter TAPESIZE=size of file-system - 10 %
    in ONCONFIG file ?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12

    Re: Backup to Disk

    Originally posted by gurey
    Hi Tom,

    To do back-up to disk I think that it is better to utilize ontape.
    You must change in ONCONFIG, the parameter TAPEDEV=/path_of_file,
    TAPESIZE=size of file-system - 10 %.
    Then run ontape -s -L 0
    I think that is more easy, to do back-up to disk, run ontape that onbar.

    Now, another form and more secure, is to do dbexport, if possible.

    Gustavo.

    Gustavo,

    Thanks, ontape looks like the easiest option to use.
    However, I'd like my backups to run every night and I'm
    wondering if there is a way to automate ontape in 9.3.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks,

    Tom

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780

    Re: Backup to Disk

    Originally posted by tlohan
    Gustavo,

    Thanks, ontape looks like the easiest option to use.
    However, I'd like my backups to run every night and I'm
    wondering if there is a way to automate ontape in 9.3.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks,

    Tom
    Hi Tom,

    Yes, there is a way, please run from an script the following:

    echo "\n" |ontape -s -L 0 |head -200

    Gustavo.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2

    Question echo "\n" |ontape -s -L 0 |head -200

    Dear Gustavo,

    can you tell me, if the command echo "\n" |ontape -s -L 0 |head -200 is a windows command or a unix-command?

    We use the IDS9.40TC3 on Windows2000 Advanced Server.

    I have the same problem with "Please mount tape1 ... and press return to continue"

    Do you know the correct batch-command?

    mbrogle

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: echo "\n" |ontape -s -L 0 |head -200

    Originally posted by mbrogle
    Dear Gustavo,

    can you tell me, if the command echo "\n" |ontape -s -L 0 |head -200 is a windows command or a unix-command?

    We use the IDS9.40TC3 on Windows2000 Advanced Server.

    I have the same problem with "Please mount tape1 ... and press return to continue"

    Do you know the correct batch-command?

    mbrogle
    Hi Mbrogle,

    The above command is a unix command. To automate the same in Windows you will have to use Windows Schedule tasks.

    Regards,

    Lloyd

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Solution for "Please mount tape1 ... and press return to continue"-Problem

    You have to create a new textfile with a cr/lf in it (CRLF.TXT).
    Then the command in the batch is

    ontape -s -L 0 < [path\]CRLF.TXT

    Please be pacient, the cursor doesn't jump into the next line, as if you do the command ontape -s -L 0 manually and give a return then.
    This is o.k.!


    Regards

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •