Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456

    Arrow Unanswered: DB2 explain error

    When I try to create an access plan for an sql, I get the following:

    Error during explain call.

    Message Text =
    SQL0444N Routine "explain" (specific name "SQL040108104637620") is
    implemented with code in library or path "\db2exsrv", function "explain"
    which cannot be accessed. Reason code: "4". SQLSTATE=42724

    I am using DB2 UDB V8 FP 3 on Windows 2000

    dollar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    186

    Re: DB2 explain error

    I would make sure the directory that the explain command is located in has the path correctly setup and the user id that your using has access to that directory and execute permission

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    278

    Explain Tables

    Hi,

    I think in your case the explain tables have not been successfully created so what I suggest is you please read the documentation and create the tables, the scripts for the same are provided in the sqllib\bin

    Guess that should solve your problem.

    HTH

    Nitin
    HTH

    Nitin

    Ask the experienced rather than the learned

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456

    Re: Explain Tables

    Hi,

    You are right to certain extent; by dropping the explain tables and re-creating them I was able to generate an access plan using Visual Explain but when I try using db2expln utility I still get the same error. Or sometime it gives me an error that ceratin package is not valid but I can't find the package anywhere!!!

    dollar

    Originally posted by nitingm
    Hi,

    I think in your case the explain tables have not been successfully created so what I suggest is you please read the documentation and create the tables, the scripts for the same are provided in the sqllib\bin

    Guess that should solve your problem.

    HTH

    Nitin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    278

    Try Db2rbind

    Hi Dollar,

    Can you please try the db2rbind command to bind all packages, probably that would refresh all the inconsistent entries and insert the correct entries in the catalog tables.

    It's a chance that we can take no harm in doing so.

    Hope this works

    Nitin.
    HTH

    Nitin

    Ask the experienced rather than the learned

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456

    Re: Try Db2rbind

    Does db2rbind puts any kind of lock on system tables and allow change access?

    dollar

    Originally posted by nitingm
    Hi Dollar,

    Can you please try the db2rbind command to bind all packages, probably that would refresh all the inconsistent entries and insert the correct entries in the catalog tables.

    It's a chance that we can take no harm in doing so.

    Hope this works

    Nitin.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    343
    I think it holds an exclusive lock on syscat.packages.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •