Unanswered: Should i use Bound or unbound controls ?

Hello !
    i am new to databases so i would be grateful for your help.
    I am using SQL Server 2000 and vb to access and update the records of a database.

I want your opinion about the way i am displaying data.
    I have created a form with textboxes etc. which display the fields
    of the table.
    Now when i load the form i populate a recordset with a
    "select ... from... " query.

Then i manually
    set

txtfield1.text=cstr(recordset.fields("field1").val ue)

etc...

If i want to update the table then i have to construct manually the
    query.

"update ... set field1='"+ txtfield.text +"' "

if i want to move to a next record i do

recordset.movenext
    and then
    txtfield1.text=cstr(recordset.fields("field1").val ue)

again
    Is that good or should i use bound controls ?

If multiple users access the same form at the same time (from different computers) will they be locked only when they save (update) data ?

Thank you !

It'll be cleaner if you implement your own locking to prevent users from attempting to update the data that is being updated by someone else. Relying on SQL to timeout connections that attempt to update the data being modified by another user will only frustrate your customers. With your custom locking, that can be implemented with only one table, the user can just get a message box saying that the data is being modified by another user.

In short, - don't use bound controls unless they are used for display only, like grids or reports.

That sounds very interesting. Do you know where i can find more information about custom locking ?
    I use True DB Grid to update also data . Is it necessary to lock the table
    each time the user opens a form that uses such a grid ?

Moreover , how is custom locking being implemented ?
    Everytime the user opens a form that accesses a specific table
    do i have to write in a record that this table is being accesses and then