Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    14

    Lightbulb Unanswered: New to SQL Server

    I am an experienced Oracle DBA with no prior experience on SQL Server. Could someone please give me some guidance how to connect to SQL Server database for the first time? The database was already created. I tried to create a new data source from administrative tools to connect to SQL server but the connection test failed.

    What is the equivalent of SQL*Plus (Oracle) in SQL Server?

    Any instructions to get started would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    135

    Re: New to SQL Server

    Is this an instance you installed? If so have you tried to connect
    using Enterprise Manager (you didn't specify which tool you tried)?


    When you tried to create the connection what type of error did you
    receive?

    The answer to these questions will allow us to better respond to your question?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    No she hasn't installed the client tools...

    You need to ge a copy of sql server (CD Media)

    Install it on you're client...it will only install the client side tools...

    Then launch enterprise manager

    Get the name of the server

    Click on the SQL Server Group Icon and right click

    Select new sql server registration, and follow the wizad

    viola
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    14
    Thank you for the information!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    14
    I have installed the client tools, launched enterprise mgr.
    What to do in new sql server registration to select a new sql server?
    I know the ip address and the instance name I want to connect to. How to add the sql server when the available server box given on the left do not list the one I want to add? Am I missing any steps? Please help.... Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,799
    Provided Answers: 11
    Since this is a named instance, for the server name you can put in

    ipaddress\instancename

    so something like

    10.10.10.10\sqlinstance1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •