Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered: rediculous problem

    i dont know if anyone else has this problem, it makes no sense to me.

    on some forms i make and open them up for use and the entire form is empty no conrols or anything. just a big empty grey box. If i click the apply filter button then the controls show up, everything turns into a list box, its useless.

    did anyone else have this problem? its very stressful

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    48
    Hi:

    I have had this problem before. My solution may not work for you.

    It would be helpful if you could post more information. Is the form populated from code, a query, etc. Maybe some info on what the form does and what data it relies on.
    Cheers,
    Ken

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    11
    well this form is populated with two input boxes, from a query.

    Its a real simple form, I hate this problem

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    24

    Check your query

    Originally posted by y2kmental
    well this form is populated with two input boxes, from a query.

    Its a real simple form, I hate this problem
    There's probably something wrong with the query. Sometimes access will simply not show the controls on a form instead of giving an error message when there's a problem with the query specified in the record source.

    If a form's recordsource is a query that isn't updateable and doesn't return any results, all the controls on the form will be invisible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    706

    Exclamation

    The key problem seems to be "no results," and although Access provides a way to detect and deal with this situation, it's very lame... But it's even worse for reports, where with some versions of the system, Access simply "locks up" more often than not.
    ChimneySweep(R): fast, automatic
    table repair at a click of the
    mouse! http://www.sundialservices.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    11
    what can I do to correct this problem or prevent it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by y2kmental
    what can I do to correct this problem or prevent it?
    Well, I guess you just have to make sure there's data in the table that matches whatever criteria you have in the query.

    Also, there's the Me.Recordset property.

    The Me.Recordset property I believe it is an ADO recordset. If it's not ADO then of course it's DAO. In either case, you can check the EOF and BOF properties to see if there are any results, like so:

    Private Sub Form_Load()

    With Me.Recordset
    If .EOF And .BOF Then

    'Do whatever you need to do here, the MsgBox is just an example of something you could do.

    MsgBox "Oops, this form has no data!"

    End If
    End With

    End Sub

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    11
    im sorry i have no idea what your taking about with the DAO and ADO...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    24
    Originally posted by y2kmental
    im sorry i have no idea what your taking about with the DAO and ADO...
    Sorry, it's visual basic stuff.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    11
    Originally posted by KennyG
    Hi:

    I have had this problem before. My solution may not work for you.

    It would be helpful if you could post more information. Is the form populated from code, a query, etc. Maybe some info on what the form does and what data it relies on.
    so what did you do to make it work?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    48
    In my case, a query is usually looking for data that is not there or is incomplete.

    Forget the ADO and DAO stuff. I think mrwiggley23 was correct when he said that you have to make sure all the data is present in the underlying tables that your query is looking for.

    Again, that has been my experience with this issue. A query is expecting to find a piece of data that is not there. I would carefully step throught my query to isolate the problem. If you have to, break it down into several parts.

    Good Luck!
    Cheers,
    Ken

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •