Unanswered: Oracle Installation for production system

Hello Friends

I am studying for Oracle certification. Could somebody please explain me the setup of oracle in the real life production system for both 8i and 9i. What types of servers to deal with, how the setup is done and what do you mean by instance, how does it work, is instance mean a particular database running like HR db. and how many databases can be on one server.

Thanks
    Ria

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    >Could somebody please explain me the setup of oracle in the real life production system for both 8i and 9i.
    Oracle Universal Installer
    >What types of servers to deal with
    It depends on what the company want to buy & support.
    >how many databases can be on one server.
    It depends upon the size of the DB, the number of users & the "horsepower" of the server.

Thanks a lot,

I haven't worked as a DBA just trying to get this certification done and then look for a job as DBA. So i don't have any knowlege about production or developer databases.
    What I meant by how many servers was how many tiers are involved.
    Like one server for oracle database one server for Applications like that.
    I do know that you can install using universal installer database on Solaris or unix or windows.
    And about instance i know that it is a background processes and the SGA.
    And also that each database run as a seperate service.
    But by instance i can't figure out what exactly it is
    I just need to know in simple words because i really don't know how it works

The number of tiers depends on the application, you could have e.g.

1) apache listening to web requests
    2) the Java application server generating pages for apache
    3) the database/instance serving data to (2)

but you could also have

2) the database/instance serving html pages to (1), using e.g. the new HTMLDB feature of Oracle

or