Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

a beginners design headache

hello

im rather new to database design and im building a sequence and lab management web database for a conservation genetics company.

the main design headache im encountering is modelling the data recorded for the automatic dna sequencer and pcr machine, these have a large number of lanes or positions, usually about 96, that each can store an individual sample that has a number of different fields associated with it e.g. tissue type, elution volume etc etc.

i need to record the data foreach particular run of these machines; so i have a table containing the id number of the run with other general information not specific to a lane/position, and then have alot of further one to one related tables that hold one piece of data foreach of the lanes/positions. consequently my table count is growing huge (to my eyes anyway).

im considering combining data into single fields but from what i understand of db design this is a big no no - but might be the only solution. if anyone has the inclination to discuss this with me, offer comments or point me to some info sources on designing dbs that arent the usual business models or ecom sites, id be hugely appreciative.

cheers.

j

I would be interested in discussing it.

From what you have written I would say you have to start a couple of hierarchy levels higher. You create a table for the entire sample, then a table for each of the positions, then a table for each of the tests for each of the positions and then a table for the results for each of the tests. It may be more complicated at the lower end but it seems close.

Machine(MachineID, MachineDescription)

Lane(LaneID, MachineID, LaneDescription)

Position(PositionID, LaneID, PositionDescription)

That's your equipment. Now you put samples in it.

Run(RunID, RunDescription)

Sample(SampleID, RunID, SampleDescription)

Property(PropertyID, PropertyDescription)