Thread: Emailed Counter

Unanswered: Emailed Counter

Hi,
    I am trying to write a script which can be called from CRON to email me the hits of a particular site say, once a month.
    I have no ide how to do this... Please help..

This is the first time I have used Unix Shell's so please bare that in mind when responding.

Thanks,
    Philip.

Re: Emailed Counter

1. Understand the format of the crontab file ("crontab -l" will list current cronjobs), and decide which user shall be running the cronjob.

2. Find where the website logs are located, decide which information you want from them, and determine how to extract it (grep)

3. Ensure a mailer is installed and pipe the output from (2) to it

I have actually setup a little PHP script which stores the website hit count in a .txt file.
    So, I guess all I need to do is view that file or as you say pipe it to a mailer.

Yep.....

How the hell do I do that?
    Im, sorry, but I have never used the Unix operating system before.
    How do I know if I have a mailer installed?

Phil.

Provided Answers: 1
    Originally posted by philip pluckros
    I have actually setup a little PHP script which stores the website hit count in a .txt file.
    So, I guess all I need to do is view that file or as you say pipe it to a mailer.

Yep.....

How the hell do I do that?
    Im, sorry, but I have never used the Unix operating system before.
    How do I know if I have a mailer installed?

Phil.
    Type "mail" and hit enter. If you don't get an error saying "unknown command" then you do have mail installed (use "x" command to exit mailer).

To send a file use the following:

cat yourfile.txt | mail -s "your subject line" youremail@address.com