Unanswered: How does the RAW datatype work?

Hi all.

I've created as
    sql>create table nx (name raw(10));

I actually want to store strings like 'klm' in this column.

using this
    sql>insert into nx values ('klm');

i get
    ORA-01465: invalid hex number

using
    sql>insert into nx values ('6b6c6d');

works.

'6b6c6d' happen to be the hexadecimal representation of 'klm';

is this the only way i can get this kind of data into a raw column? I'm new to RAW datatype hence the question. Is there some kind of conversion function to which I can pass ('klm') and get the raw equivalent?

If it helps I'm using Oracle8i. And although I've executed sql statements manually, the bulk of the application will executing sql in C++ via ODBC API. Also if I read the data from the C++ application the data gets converted to 'klm' automatically.

Thanks for any contribution.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    Read The Fine Manuals at http://tahiti.oracle.com to learn all about RAW datatypes and associated functions.

Provided Answers: 1

Re: How does the RAW datatype work?

But if you want to store strings, why would you use RAW? RAW is for binary data about which Oracle knows nothing.

thanks to anacedent for the link. i haven't found anything i did not know before. it has provided so far an explanation for what i figured out by trial and error. thanks again.